A Clinical Guide to Dental Traumatology by Louis H. Berman; Lucia Blanco; Stephen CohenThis practical, highly illustrated book describes the treatment and management of commonly encountered traumatic injuries to the teeth. It relates these types of trauma to crown fractures, root fractures, luxation injuries, and exarticulations. A step-by-step reference, this book also discusses complications that may involve surrounding soft and hard tissues, plus those that may arise in managing medically compromised patients. Hundreds of full-color photographs and illustrations show concepts and depict case studies and treatment outcomes. Step-by-step descriptions of treatment plans offer "recipes" for treating patients according to type of injury. For each type of traumatic injury, you'll learn these key steps: How to perform a correct initial assessment of the problem. How to determine whether the patient suffers any related problems. How to record the injury and its subsequent treatment in the patient record. How to avoid future problems by ensuring that the entire tooth is treated - including any hidden injury to the pulp or dentin. Information on etiology and epidemiology of problems promotes more effective treatment of specific injuries and conditions. The Law and Dental Trauma chapter explains legal issues unique to treating dental injuries under emergency conditions. Psychological Impact of Injuries chapter describes the reactions that trauma patients may have, and how dentists can improve treatment by providing the patient with emotional support and holistic management. Chapters on hard tissue injuries focus on injuries to tooth/hard tissue anatomy - and one chapter examines soft tissue management - discussing types of trauma and their effects on surrounding oral tissues. Introductory chapter provides an overview of topics discussed in the book. Hundreds of references are listed alphabetically at the end of each chapter with research studies and current articles for further research. An interdisciplinary approach includes periodontal, endodontic, and pediatric considerations for specific types of injuries.
Publication Date: 2006-09-25
Clinician's Endodontic Handbook by Thom C. Dumsha; James L. GutmannAn illustrated guide to the issues in endodontic therapy. It presents the techniques, procedures, and materials are in an easy-to-use format. Suitable for dental practitioners with an interest in endodontics, it contains 21 tabbed chapters of endodontic topics. It also features over 275 color photographs, radiographs, diagrams, and drawings.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WU49 D896c 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp Expert Consult by Kenneth M. Hargreaves; Stephen Cohen; Louis H. BermanThe definitive endodontics reference, Cohen''s Pathways of the Pulp is known for its comprehensive coverage of leading-edge information, materials, and techniques. It examines all aspects of endodontic care, from preparing the clinician and patient for endodontic treatment to the role the endodontist can play in the treatment of traumatic injuries and to the procedures used in the treatment of pediatric and older patients. Not only does Hargreaves and Cohen''s 10th edition add five chapters on hot new topics, it also includes online access! As an Expert Consult title, Cohen''s Pathways of the Pulp lets you search the entire contents of the book on your computer, and includes five online chapters not available in the printed text, plus videos, a searchable image collection, and more. For evidence-based endodontics research and treatment, this is your one-stop resource! A diverse and respected group of contributors includes experts such as Louis Berman, Gerald Glickman, Richard Walton, Gary Hartwell, and many more. Preparation for Treatment chapter examines the issues that must be addressed before nonsurgical root canal treatment can begin, including proper infection control and occupational safety procedures for the entire health care team and treatment environment, appropriate communication with the patient (including case presentation and informed consent), premedication, effective administration of local anesthesia, a quality radiographic or digital-image survey, and thorough isolation of the treatment site. Cleaning and Shaping of the Root Canal System chapter includes a new section on preventing/treating sodium hypochlorite accidents, and also addresses the framework of root canal treatment, the technical and clinical issues surrounding cleaning and shaping, and canal preparation and cleaning techniques. Records and Legal Responsibilities chapter includes legal forms and descriptions of legal processes, guidelines for record keeping, and information on HIPAA doctor-patient rights and responsibilities, so you can avoid potential legal issues, operate your practice more smoothly and professionally, and know your options in all situations. The Role of Endodontics After Dental Traumatic Injuries chapter focuses on the role of the dentino-pulpal complex in the pathogenesis of disease subsequent to dentinal trauma and how treatment of this complex can contribute to favorable healing. Periradicular Surgery chapter covers this predictable, cost-effective alternative to extraction and tooth replacement with a new section on three-dimensional cone beam volumetric tomography and also covers topics including indications for periradicular surgery, the biological principles of wound healing, soft and hard tissue healing, systemic medications and the effect they have on wound healing, pre-operative evaluation, patient preparation, anesthesia, surgical access, periradicular curettage and biopsy, localized hemostasis, management of the root endguided tissue regeneration and endodontic surgery, intentional replantation, postoperative care, management of surgical complications, and more. Pediatric Endodontics chapter provides a review of current therapies for the prevention and treatment of pulpal disease in primary and young permanent teeth. Effects of Age and Systemic Health on Endodontics chapter discusses special considerations and procedures for older patients, including how medical and dental histories can impact treatment, diagnosis and treatment of the older patient, and endodontic surgery. Digital Technology in Endodontic Practice chapter discusses integrating technology into the office, including the use of electronic records, with a new section on radiation addressing the NCRP recommendations, quality assurance, and patient education, and a section on Cone Beam CT examining CBCT advantages such as lower cost, less radiation, and greater accuracy, along with the newly introduced hybrid units like the Kodak 9000 3D extraoral imaging system. Online access to the complete, fully searchable contents of the book makes it easy to find clinical answers quickly. Five chapters are available online only: Understanding and Managing the Fearful Dental Patient, The Law and Dental Technology: Focus on Endodontics, Digital Technologies in Endodontic Practice, CBCT for Endodontics, and Endodontic Practice Management. Updates address the latest developments in the field. Videos and animations demonstrate key procedures, such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tipT system, dentin hypersensitivity, indirect ultrasound, palpation of the temporomandibular joint, ultrasonic settling, and more. An online image library includes all of the book''s images, organized by chapter, in a user-friendly format - allowing you to search for what you want and then save images into a virtual "Light Box" or straight into a PowerPoint presentation. NEW Pathobiology of the Periapex chapter covers apical periodontitis and infection, asymptomatic apical periodontitis (apical granuloma), infection apical periodontitis and systemic diseases, wound healing of apical periodontitis, and much more. NEW Restoration of Endodontically Treated Teeth chapter covers topics such as the special features of endodontically treated teeth, restorative materials, pretreatment evaluation and treatment strategy, and a variety of clinical procedures including direct composite restorations, veneers, amalgam core, composite core and white post, and more. NEW Regenerative Endodontics chapter. NEW CBCT for Endodontics chapter. NEW Endodontic Practice Management chapter. A drug database - powered by Gold Standard - lets you access drug information by indications, contraindications, and adverse reactions. A Challenge lets you assess your understanding with multiple-choice questions based on chapter-specific discussions or case scenarios, including answers and rationales. A glossary defines evidence-based terms, as provided by The Journal of Evidence-Based Dental Practice.
Endodontics: Principles and Practice by Mahmoud Torabinejad; Ashraf Fouad; Richard E. WaltonHelping you incorporate endodontics into general dentistry practice, Endodontics: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition describes how to diagnose pulpal and periapical diseases and perform basic root canal treatments. Illustrated, step-by-step guidelines make it easier to perform essential endodontic procedures, and each is brought to life with videos on the new companion website. Practical coverage also includes topics such as the etiology of disease, local anesthesia, emergency treatment, obturation, and temporization. From renowned endodontics experts Mahmoud Torabinejad, Richard Walton, and Ashraf Fouad, this edition adds new chapters on single implant restorations and the management of patients with systemic disease. Well-known, international contributors share guidelines, expertise, and their clinical experience with contemporary technologies and procedures. Fully updated, evidence-based content integrates the best clinical evidence with the practitioner's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences. Authoritative, visually detailed coverage provides a practical understanding of basic endodontic principles and procedures, including pulpal and periapical diseases and their management. Organization of content reflects the order in which procedures are performed in clinical settings, enhancing your understanding the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations ensure a clear, accurate understanding of procedures, and include radiographs and clinical photographs. Learning objectives help you meet the theoretical and procedural expectations for each chapter. NEW Single Tooth Implant chapter introduces the use of single tooth implants as an important treatment option for the partially endentulous patient, covering the diagnostic, implant design, surgical, and prosthodontic innovations that have advanced the single implant restoration. NEW Diagnoses, Treatment Planning, and Systemic Considerations chapter examines current thinking on the relationship between oral disease and systemic health and how the management of patients with systemic disease (such as diabetes) may differ from that of other patients. NEW Interaction Between Generalist and Specialists chapter addresses the roles of general dentists and endodontists, and help you determine whether to perform the necessary treatment or if referral to a specialist is the better option. NEW contributors and NEW co-editor Dr. Ashraf Fouad bring a fresh perspective to the management of pulpal and periapical diseases. New! Evolve companion website includes over 40 video clips demonstrating essential procedures plus over 300 review questions including answers with rationales.
Pocket Atlas of Endodontics by Rudolf Beer; Michael A. Baumann; Andrej M. KielbassaEndodontology has seen enormous advances in recent years. New high-tech tools, such as operative microscopes in combination with ultrasound and nickel-titanium files, make possible a high-level of quality in treatment with excellent long-term treatment results. Regular updating of knowledge is indispensable for every practitioner. This book provides a fast and up-to-date orientation of the entire area of endodontology. Didactic concept: The classic Thieme Flexi format, with concise text on the left and excellent illustrations on the right hand page of more than 150 double page spreads. Oriented toward problem-solving: What is to be done with ongoing pain? How should one react in an emergency situation? What special considerations are there in children? What should one do in the case of obliterated canals, perforations, and incomplete growth of roots? When results are poor, how does one plan revision procedures? Efficient treatment planning, newest methods
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WU49 B414t 2006a
Publication Date: 2005-11-23
Principles of Operative Dentistry by A. J. E. Qualtrough; Leean Morrow; Paul A. Brunton; Julian Satterthwaite; Paul BruntonDental students are faced with an array of operative procedures; understanding and the development of competence in their use is demanding. This text aims to detail and justify the basic principles involved in operative procedures with the intention of reinforcing understanding and improving clinical skills. Direct and indirect restorations and endodontic procedures are addressed. Not only for the student, this book is also designed as a source of reference for all practitioners who carry out restorative dentistry and are faced with the introduction of new materials and techniques. Referral to this text and evidence-based practice will assist the clinician in the appropriate selection of newer approaches to the delivery of modern day care.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WU300 P9575 2005
Publication Date: 2009-02-11
Seltzer and Bender's Dental Pulp by Kenneth M. Hargreaves; Franklin R. Tay; Harold E. Goodis; Samuel SeltzerThis comprehensive update of a classic text presents the latest research on the dental pulp and its interaction with other tissues, highlighting its central role in both local and systemic health. The second edition has been completely revised to incorporate new chapters featuring the most topical issues in research and clinical practice, including developments in stem cell research and pulpodentin regeneration, the effects of the aging process on the pulp, and the interdependent relationship of the pulp and restorative dental procedures. New contributors bring fresh perspective to topics such as pulpal infections, odontalgia, and the relationship between the pulp and periodontal disease. Each chapter provides an introduction to its major themes for the busy clinician or dental student as well as up-to-date, biologically based clinical recommendations for restorative and endodontic procedures. Practicing clinicians will find this information to be essential to providing accurate diagnoses and effective treatment.
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Treatment Planning for Traumatized Teeth by Mitsuhiro TsukiboshiSince the publication of the first edition of this book, increased knowledge of treatment outcomes combined with better techniques, new materials, and innovative technology have led to improved diagnosis and management of dental traumatic injuries. This new edition emphasizes a minimally invasive approach to treating dental traumas in which procedures are aimed at assisting the natural healing process. As in the previous edition, key points related to examination and diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment procedures are described for specific types of dental trauma. New cases and updated protocols elucidate the most recent approaches to effective treatment of dental traumatic injuries.