Caries Management - Science and Clinical Practice by Hendrik Meyer-Lueckel (Editor); Sebastian Paris (Editor); Kim R. Ekstrand (Editor)A comprehensive approach to modern caries management This systematic approach to modern caries management combines new, evidence-based treatment techniques with the scientific underpinnings of caries formation, providing an in-depth review for both clinicians in daily practice and students advancing in the field. Beginning with patho-anatomic changes in the dental hard tissues, Dental Caries: Science and Clinical Practice goes on to cover non-invasive, minimally invasive, and more aggressive interventions based on each stage of the disease. From microbiology and histology to visual, tactile and radiographic diagnosis, risk assessment, preventive measures, and tooth preservation and treatment strategies, the book is packed with valuable clinical information for all dental practitioners. Key Features: Succinctly covers the science behind the disease, with recommendations for treatments based on assessment starting at the microscopic level Written by a team of leading worldwide authorities on caries treatment and managementand utilizing the International Caries Detection and Assessment System (ICDAS) standard throughout Covers the newest treatment techniques, including adhesion technology, fissure sealing and infiltration, caries removal, tooth-colored restorations, and more Demonstrates step-by-step caries procedures in striking, full-color illustrations of adult and pediatric cases Offers the newest thinking on early prevention and behavioral changes in oral health promotion, including the role of diet and nutrition, biofilm management, fluoride use, population-based approaches, and more Shifting to the new paradigm of heal and seal rather than the more invasive drill and fill, this beautifully illustrated text puts scientific principles into clinical action for the best results. It is an essential resource for a complete, proactive approach to caries detection, assessment, treatment, management, and prevention in contemporary dental practice.
Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management by Edwina Kidd (Editor); Bente Nyvad (Editor); Ole Fejerskov (Editor)First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease aetiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
Detection, Assessment, Diagnosis and Monitoring of Caries by N. Pitts (Editor); G. M. Whitford (Contribution by); A. Lussi (Contribution by); M. C. D. N. J. M. Huysmans (Contribution by); H. -P. Weber (Contribution by)The International Caries Detection and Assessment System (ICDAS) offers clinical criteria and codes, together with a framework to support and enable personalized comprehensive caries management for improved long-term health outcome. Based on the ICDAS, this publication provides an up-to-date synthesis of the fields of detection, assessment, diagnosis and monitoring of caries. The available evidence is reviewed, and a summary is given of the current international views on best practice of how the information collected can be collated and synthesized to inform the planning, delivery and clinical evaluation of patient-centred, comprehensive caries management. The book includes a unique glossary of key terms developed with a number of international groups and establishes new links between cariology in clinical practice, caries research, dental education and epidemiology, and dental public health. The book presents valuable information for practitioners and other dental health professionals with an interest in dental caries and its modern, evidence-based, clinical management as well as for all involved in the domains of dental public health, caries research or education.
Essentials of Dental Caries by Edwina A. M. KiddDental caries is a process which may take place on any tooth surface in the oral cavity where dental plaque is allowed to develop over a period of time. The new edition of this popular, clinically relevant book provides the biological background required by dentistry students in order to take the science of cariology to the chairside in the management of patients. It describes the cause of caries and its progression in enamel and dentine. Methods of prevention including plaque control, use of fluoride and dietary control are described. The indications for operative management are covered, as well as how to teach patients their essential role in caries control. Illustrated in full colour and written in an accessible style, this book will appeal to dental students as well as dental nurses, dental health educators, hygienists, and therapists. It will also be of use to scientists working in the field of clinical cariology and to qualified dentists who wish to update their knowledge.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WU270 K46e 2005
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Paediatric Cariology by Christopher Deery; Marie Therese Hosey; Paula J. WaterhouseTeeth are important to children, particularly primary teeth. What can be done in the dental surgery to prevent disease? Moreover, the anatomy of primary teeth results in pulpal change faster. Fortunately, restorative techniques are simpler. This book unravels the modern theories of cariology and provides simple step-by-step guides to restoration.