LibGuides: Biomedical Sciences & Comprehensive Care: Background Information

Background Information - Online books, encyclopedias, and other sources to answer basic questions and get clinical information

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology textbooks, multimedia, self-assessments, practice guidelines and more.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine (ACM) is an online medical resource that provides students and practitioners with tools for basic and advanced studies, clerkships, test prep and decision-making at the point-of-care. ACM provides medical students, residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and practicing physicians with interactive content, self-assessment, and leading medical texts including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window AccessSurgery (ACS) is an online medical resource that provides practicing surgeons, surgical residents and medical students with tools for decision-making at the point-of-care; clinical rotations; clerkships; and shelf, ABSITE, and board exam prep. ACS provides interactive content, surgical videos, self-assessment, and medical texts including the latest editions of Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
An online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier product as well.
Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. The target audience for Cochrane Clinical Answers is healthcare practitioners and professionals, and other informed health care decision-makers.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
An open access source for clinical guidelines. An alternative to the now closed National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL): Interdisciplinary background information to start your research.

JADA Clinical Scans
"Contributors to the JADA Clinical Scans select published articles of interest to oral health care professionals, provide a brief overview of the article content, and offer a scientific- and evidence-based assessment of the published research, making the Clinical Scans an essential addition to the training and experience of oral health professionals and providing information that helps integrate patients’ preferences and values into treatment decisions."

MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other organizations.
Natural Medicines: The Authority on Integrative Medicine This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary background information to start your research.
STAT!Ref through IUSD This link opens in a new window
Over 40 reference, text and other books on dentistry and oral health.
Thieme MedOne Radiology This link opens in a new window For radiology education, incorporates the procedure study tool RadCases, ebooks such as Gunderman’s Essential Radiology, images, videos and journals.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support system that helps clinicians throughout the world provide the best patient care. Uses current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care saving clinicians' time, improving outcomes, and lowering health care costs.

Please note: Access to this resource will end June 30, 2024