Test Prep
Question Banks
- AccessMedicine Basic Science Review QuestionsGenerate multiple-choice quizzes with questions taken from AccessMedicine textbooks on Anatomy and Physiology, Biochemistry, Epidemiology & Biostatistics, Microbiology, Pathology & Histology.
- AccessMedicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Basic Sciences Cases in this collection include Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Pathology, Pharmacology and Physiology. Each case includes a discussion, clinical pearls and references, definitions of key terms and USMLE-style review questions with explanations of the correct answers. (Login or create a free MyAccess account to save and track individual progress through cases and quiz results.)
- Board VitalsQuestion bank to help prepare for board and re-certification exams. Includes USMLE Step 1, 2 and 3, Neurology, Neurology MOC, Pathology, Pathology MOC, Pediatrics, Pediatrics MOC, and shelf exams for Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, OBGYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry & Surgery.
Click here to create an account
Click here to log in if you already have a BoardVitals account - Draw It to Know It This link opens in a new windowOnline, interactive learning tool for Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Clinical Pathology, Clinical Pharmacology, Embryology, Genetics, Gross Anatomy, Histology, Immunology/Microbiology, Neuroanatomy, and Physiology. Each course includes animated tutorials, flashcards, exercises, question banks and atlases. Draw It to Know It can be accessed using a web browser or download the mobile app from the Apple app store.
- LWW Health Library Board Review Series (BRS) This link opens in a new windowTextbooks and multimedia for medical students preparing for Board Review exams in basic science fields of gross anatomy, physiology, embryology, behavioral science, cell biology, neuroanatomy, microbiology, immunology, biochemistry, molecular biology, pharmacology, and pathology.
- LWW Health Library Medical Education Collection This link opens in a new windowTextbooks on core/fundamental topics, plus procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks for medical and health science students and practitioners. Includes Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy, and West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowSelect Questions and Answers from the left sidebar. Click on Login to create a free account and track your progress, then choose the book from which you want to answer questions.
Books by Topic
First Aid Cases for the USMLE Step 1 by ISBN: 9781260143133Publication Date: 2019Case companion to First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 that enables test-takers to make connections between basic science principles and clinical situations. Each case contains precise drawings or clinical images with Q&As that drive home main concepts.
First Aid for the Basic Sciences: General Principles (***ATTENTION*** Effective April 30, 2024, this book will no longer be accessible on this platform.) by ISBN: 9781259587016Publication Date: 2017***ATTENTION*** Effective April 30, 2024, this book will no longer be accessible on this platform. McGraw-Hill is discontinuing this eBook Library platform and we will not be able to renew our subscription. We apologize for any inconvenience.
First Aid for the Basic Sciences: Organ Systems (***ATTENTION*** Effective April 30, 2024, this book will no longer be accessible on this platform.) by ISBN: 9781259587030Publication Date: 2017***ATTENTION*** Effective April 30, 2024, this book will no longer be accessible on this platform. McGraw-Hill is discontinuing this eBook Library platform and we will not be able to renew our subscription. We apologize for any inconvenience.
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2023 (33rd ed) by ISBN: 9781264947201Publication Date: 2023Complete framework for USMLE Step 1 preparation including must-know topics with mnemonics to focus study, and color photos and illustrations to help visualize processes, disorders, and clinical findings. Presents high-yield tables associating diseases with their clinical findings, treatments, and pathophysiology.
First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 2023 (33rd ed) (Print) by Call Number: Reserve W18.2 B575f 2023ISBN: 9781264946624Publication Date: 2023CAN BE CHECKED OUT FOR 7 DAYS. Complete framework for USMLE Step 1 preparation including must-know topics with mnemonics to focus study, and color photos and illustrations to help visualize processes, disorders, and clinical findings. Presents high-yield tables associating diseases with their clinical findings, treatments, and pathophysiology.
BRS Pathology (6th ed) by ISBN: 9781975136628Publication Date: 2021General and basic pathology, major concepts of disease processes, and systemic pathology that surveys the principal disorders of each organ system through concise descriptions and full-color illustrations. USMLE-style questions emphasize board-relevant information.
Case Files Pathology (2nd ed) by ISBN: 9780071486668Publication Date: 2008Presents 50+ clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions.
Pathology Q and A by ISBN: 9781626233805Publication Date: 2018Provides a review of pathology concepts that combines pathology with strong clinical correlations. Over 1,100 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions and detailed explanations, classified by organ system and difficulty. Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE®-format.
BRS Physiology (8th ed) by ISBN: 9781975153601Publication Date: 2023Review of all essential physiology concepts covered in the first and second year of medical school. Includes more than 350 clinical vignette-style multiple-choice questions and abundant illustrations, flow charts, and tables.
Case Files Neuroscience (2nd ed) by ISBN: 9780071790253Publication Date: 2015Provides 49 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in the field of Neuroscience. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, neuroscience pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
Case Files Physiology (2nd ed) by ISBN: 9780071493741Publication Date: 2009Presents 50 real-life clinical cases illustrating essential concepts in Physiology. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, physiology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
Ganong's Physiology Examination and Board Review by ISBN: 9780071832328Publication Date: 2017Covers all key physiology principles using clinical correlations to clarify the connection between physiology and clinical medicine. Includes flow charts, illustrations, tables, and examinations, followed by the correct answers and rationales.
Vander's Renal Physiology (10th ed) by ISBN: 9781264278527Publication Date: 2023Explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. Provides the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine.
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class (6th ed) by ISBN: 9781264264841Publication Date: 2022Framework for studying and understanding the fundamental principles of drug actions. Presents drugs by classes, details need-to-know information on each class, and reinforces key concepts and definitions.
BRS Pharmacology (7th ed) by ISBN: 9781975105495Publication Date: 2020General principles of drug mechanisms and detailed descriptions of how drugs act on major body systems. Presents pharmacologic principles of toxicology and essential information on drugs used to treat anemia, disorders of hemostasis, infectious diseases, and cancer.
Case Files Pharmacology (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9780071790239Publication Date: 2014Provides 56 true-to-life clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in Pharmacology. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, pharmacology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE: Learning Pharmacology Through Clinical Cases by ISBN: 9781626234239Publication Date: 2018Cases portray real-life scenarios, promoting a bridge from foundational knowledge to its application. A series of USMLE-style questions with thorough explanations provide a comprehensive understanding of relevant basic science disciplines such as physiology, pathology, and microbiology, with a detailed analysis of the pharmacology.
BRS Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Genetics (7th ed) by ISBN: 9781496399236Publication Date: 2020An outline format keeps content succinct and accessible, accompanied by bold key terms, detailed figures, and quick-reference tables. Clinical Correlation boxes detail the real-world application of chapter concepts, and updated USMLE-style questions with answers test retention.
Case Files Biochemistry (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9780071794886Publication Date: 2015Provides 53 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in the field of Biochemistry. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, biochemistry pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry (32nd ed) by ISBN: 9781260469943Publication Date: 2023Emphasis on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice. Includes full color illustrations and case studies that emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry.
BRS Microbiology and Immunology (6th ed) by ISBN: 9781451175349Publication Date: 2014A concise, readable outline format, that is intended to cover topics most commonly tested on USMLE. Included are 300 to 500 review questions in the USMLE-style format, and a comprehensive examination.
Case Files Microbiology (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9780071820233Publication Date: 2015Provides 54 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in the field of Microbiology. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, microbiology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease(18th ed) by ISBN: 9781265126001Publication Date: 2024Basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Emphasizes the clinical application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases, using narrative text, color images, tables and figures, Q&A, and clinical vignettes.
BRS Embryology (6th ed) by ISBN: 9781451190380Publication Date: 2014Facts and concepts of human embryologic development using outstanding radiographs, sonograms, computed tomography scans, and clinical photographs of various congenital malformations. Over 220 USMLE-style questions with complete answers and explanations.
BRS Gross Anatomy (10th ed) by ISBN: 9781975181376Publication Date: 2024Presents the essentials of human anatomy and connections between anatomical knowledge and clinical medicine. 200 color illustrations help explain difficult concepts. Includes over 550 board-style questions with complete answers and explanations.
BRS Neuroanatomy (6th ed) by ISBN: 9781496396181Publication Date: 2020Presents the essentials of neuroanatomy with concise descriptions, clinical correlation boxes, radiographs, full-color illustrations and over 575 board-style questions with complete answers and explanations. Includes over 200 full color illustrations and medical mages
Case Files Anatomy (3rd ed) by ISBN: 9780071794862Publication Date: 2015Provides true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in the field of Anatomy. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, anatomy pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.- Case Files Neuroscience (2nd ed) by ISBN: 9780071790253Publication Date: 2015Provides 49 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in the field of Neuroscience. Each case includes an easy to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, neuroscience pearls, and USMLE-style review questions.
BRS Cell Biology and Histology (8th ed) by ISBN: 9781496396358Publication Date: 2019Dynamic micrographs, illustrations, full-color tables, and more than 320 board-style multiple-choice review questions with answers that reinforce understanding and ensure readiness for exams and the challenges of today's fast-paced clinical practice.
BRS Behavioral Science (8th ed) by ISBN: 9781975118365Publication Date: 2021Current coverage of behavioral science, psychiatry, epidemiology, and related topics, including the latest developments in psychopharmacology, US healthcare legislation, biological assessment of patients with psychiatric symptoms, and substance-related disorders. Chapters reflect the full range of behavioral science and conform to the latest psychiatric classification system, DSM-5.
- BRS Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Genetics (7th ed) by ISBN: 9781496399236Publication Date: 2020An outline format keeps content succinct and accessible, accompanied by bold key terms, detailed figures, and quick-reference tables. Clinical Correlation boxes detail the real-world application of chapter concepts, and updated USMLE-style questions with answers test retention.