Skip to main content

Library DIY

Nothing I Found Was in Full Text

In a database if there is no link to the full text, look for the Find It Linkbutton, which searches further for the item and often takes you to the full text. 

If the Find It Linkbutton does not take you to the full text:

  • Check Google Scholar. If it's unavailable in full text there, go to the next step.
     
  • Search in IUCAT, the library catalog, for the journal title in which the article appears. (Do not search for the article title.)  

    • There may be multiple versions of the journal - some may be available electronically, and others may be available only in print. The catalog record will indicate where the journal is located. (For electronic journals you will see a link; for print journals look for the library location listed at the end of the catalog record.) 
       
    • When you locate the journal title, look in the catalog record for the publication dates for which the journal is available. Be sure the publication date of your article matches with the publication years listed in IUCAT. 
       
    • Access the relevant journal issue and navigate to the article you need. 
       
      • For electronic journals: After you've accessed the journal through the catalog link, if you don't see the full text immediately, use the main search box to search by title.  
         
      • For print journals: Items available in print journals will have a location and call number. To find the journal on the shelf, write down the call number or text it to your phone. If the item is only available in print on another campus, click the Request This button to have the item delivered to an IUPUI library.

More on accessing a specific journal 

  • If we do not have the article in our online or print collections, request it through InterLibrary Loan. Do not pay for individual articles - you are already paying for access with your IUPUI tuition. 
     
  • If you need help, Ask a Librarian!