Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by Michael G. Newman; Henry Takei; Perry R. Klokkevold; Fermin A. CarranzaThe most definitive and widely used periodontology text for both the classroom and clinical practice, Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 12th Edition includes the most current periodontal information - from basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy. Written by leading experts Michael Newman, Henry Takei, Perry Klokkevold, and Fermin Carranza, along with a pool of international contributors, this text not only shows how to perform periodontal procedures, it describes how to best manage the outcomes and explains the evidence supporting each treatment. Covering all the information found on the National Board Exams in the US, this edition is a perfect choice for dental education programs and students. The Expert Consult website includes the entire, fully searchable contents of the ebook, as well as a wealth of resources including a periodontal pathology atlas, videos, animations, case reports, PowerPoints, and more. NOTE: This title will be available ONLY on our new Expert Consult platform. The current Expert Consult platform will be discontinued at the end of 2014. To learn more about the new Expert Consult experience - and shop for hundreds of interactive titles - please visit the new Expert Consult today! Endless resources on the Expert Consult companion website give you access to advanced material, including a periodontal pathology atlas, videos, animations, PowerPoint slides, case studies, flashcards, review questions and answers, and complete reference lists with links to MedLine abstracts. Over 3100 illustrations including 2550 in full-color depict the newest developments in basic science and surgical technology. NEW! Dual content designed to fit the needs of students, residents, and clinicians: Printed text content is perfect for dental education programs and students as it covers all the basic science and clinical topics covered in the National Board Exams in the United States. ebook and Expert Consult content includes all the information from the printed text, plus expanded presentations on many clinical topics including advanced procedures that are often referred for specialist treatment - a perfect resource for periodontal residents and practicing clinicians. Over 3,100 illustrations including 2,550 in full-color depict the newest developments in basic science and surgical technology. NEW! New chapter organization groups chapters into four logical parts: Biologic Basis of Periodontology, Clinical Periodontics, Oral Implantology, and Supplementary Topics. NEW! Two new co-editors and many new contributors have been added to the already diverse and respected author team that represents many of the US-based dental education programs, as well as programs outside of the US. NEW! Suggested readings in the printed text plus complete reference lists found in the expanded ebook.
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by Michael G. Newman; Henry Takei; Perry R. Klokkevold; Fermin A. CarranzaFrom basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy, Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 13th Edition is the resource you can count on to help master the most current information and techniques in periodontology. Full color photos, illustrations, radiographs and videos show you how to perform periodontal procedures, while renowned experts from across the globe explain the evidence supporting each treatment and lend their knowledge on how to best manage the outcomes. Access to the Expert Consult website provides fully-searchable online chapters and unique case-based clinical scenarios that mimic the new format of credentialing exams. The Expert Consult platform also includes a wealth of resources to enhance understanding, such as: a periodontal pathology atlas, virtual microscope, animations, case reports, videos, audio slides, review questions, reference lists, and much more. It's the perfect resource for dental students, periodontal residents, and clinicians alike! UNIQUE! Expert Consult platform offers a versatile print and digital resources that help bring text information to life. UNIQUE! Bonus content on Expert Consult includes multiple-choice self-assessment questions with instant feedback, chapter review PowerPoint slides, videos clips, case studies, and more. UNIQUE! Periodontal Pathology Atlas contains the most comprehensive collection of cases found anywhere. Full-color photos and anatomical drawings clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce important principles. UNIQUE! Chapter opener boxes in the print book alert readers when more comprehensive coverage of topics is available in the online version of the text. NEW! Chapters updated to meet the current exam requirements for the essentials in periodontal education. NEW! Case-based clinical scenarios incorporated throughout the book mimic the new patient case format used in credentialing exams. NEW! Additional tables, boxes, and graphics highlight need-to-know information. NEW! Virtual microscope on Expert Consult offers easy access to high-resolution views of select pathology images. NEW! Two new chapters cover periimplantitis and resolving inflammation. NEW! Section on evidence-based practice consists of two chapters covering evidence-based decision making and critical thinking.
Publication Date: 2018-07-17
Periodontics: Medicine, Surgery, and Implants by Robert J. Genco; D. Walter Cohen; Brian L. Mealey; Louis F. RoseThis definitive book presents the medical and surgical aspects of periodontics in full color, organized to coincide with topics in the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. It offers strong theory and concepts, as well as highly instructive clinical practice applications. The hallmark of this book is that it directs dental diagnosis and treatment toward controlling infection and establishing an oral environment that is conducive to the overall health and well-being of the patient. Interrelationships between oral and systemic health are emphasized throughout, and advanced technologies and techniques such as oral, plastic and reconstructive surgery, and dental implant surgery are key components. All goals and objectives of the American Academy of Periodontology's Vision 2020 program are addressed, highlighting the most up-to-date information on periodontal medicine. Content is organized to coincide with the AAP's Vision 2020 Objectives. Full color illustrations show the tissue colors and provide critical information about diagnosis of disease and assessment of the success or failure of clinical therapy. Information is provided on all forms of nonsurgical and surgical therapies, including dental implant surgery and advanced surgical techniques such as guided bone regeneration, sinus augmentation, and esthetic periodontal surgery. The chapters dealing with mucogingival surgery, resective surgery, and the basic principles of surgery essentially make up a color atlas of periodontal practice. A comprehensive chapter on conscious sedation offers excellent content as an option for patients who want to be "asleep" during involved procedures. Information on when and how to use antibiotics and antimicrobials adds a critical component to the interrelationship between oral and systemic health. No other periodontal reference includes a chapter on electronic dental health records, with highly relevant content as more and more dental practices move toward becoming "paperless" offices. A separate chapter on the role of the dental hygienist in periodontal procedures makes this the perfect reference for in-office education. Information on periodontal instrumentation provides an excellent overview of the instruments that practitioners and their support staff use every day.
Basic and Applied Bone Biology by David B. Burr (Editor); Matthew R. Allen (Editor)This book provides an overview of skeletal biology from the molecular level to the organ level, including cellular control, interaction and response; adaptive responses to various external stimuli; the interaction of the skeletal system with other metabolic processes in the body; and the effect of various disease processes on the skeleton. The book also includes chapters that address how the skeleton can be evaluated through the use of various imaging technologies, biomechanical testing, histomorphometric analysis, and the use of genetically modified animal models. Presents an in-depth overview of skeletal biology from the molecular to the organ level Offers "refresher" level content for clinicians or researchers outside their areas of expertise Boasts editors and many chapter authors from Indiana and Purdue Universities, two of the broadest and deepest programs in skeletal biology in the US; other chapter authors include clinician scientists from pharmaceutical companies that apply the basics of bone biology
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
Basic and Applied Bone Biology by David B. Burr (Editor); Matthew R. Allen (Editor)Basic and Applied Bone Biology, Second Edition, provides an overview of skeletal biology, from the molecular level, to the organ level, including cellular control, interaction and response, adaptive responses to various external stimuli, and the interaction of the skeletal system with other metabolic processes in the body. The book includes chapters that address how the skeleton can be evaluated through the use of various imaging technologies, biomechanical testing, histomorphometric analysis, and the use of genetically-modified animal models. Each chapter delves deep into the important details of topics covered to provide a solid understanding of the basics of bone biology. Bone biology researchers who also train undergraduate and graduate students in the lab will use this book constantly to orient new students on the basics of the field and as a background reference for many of the technical aspects of qualification in bone biology (e.g., mechanics, histomorphometry, genetic modification, biochemistry, etc.).
Call Number: Online - 2nd ed (2019)
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by Dennis Kasper; Anthony Fauci; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Jameson; Joseph LoscalzoThe landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today''s students and clinicians A Doody''s Core Title for 2015. All eChapters in the Nineteenth Edition are accessible online as well as on the DVD packaged within the print volumes, so you have the flexibility of using the method of access most convenient to you. Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison''s Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison''s provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Presented in two volumes: Volume 1 is devoted to foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; Volume 2 covers disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men''s Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more. Increased number of the popular Harrison''s clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full col∨ crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Access to outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, and more Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison''s patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, the book''s several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison''s: "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text. The accompanying DVD includes extensive video and image collections of pathology, histology, procedures, additional lectures, and radiology... ...Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. "
Publication Date: 2015-04-08
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient by James W. Little; Craig Miller; Nelson L. RhodusLearn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
Medical Physiology by Rodney A. Rhoades; David R. BellMedical Physiology presents the physiological concepts essential to clinical medicine. Each chapter provides conceptual diagrams to facilitate comprehension of difficult concepts, and presents both normal and abnormal clinical conditions to illustrate how physiology serves as an important basis for diagnosis and treatment. Hallmark pedagogical features emphasize problem-solving skills and promote review and retention: Clinical Focus and From Bench to Bedside boxes, a comprehensive glossary, and online USMLE-style review questions with answers and explanations. Companion web site offers additional resources for students (question bank, animations, searchable text) and faculty (image and test banks, PowerPoint slides for use in class).
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by Arthur H. JeskeNo dental office should be without this quick-reference drug guide! Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 12th Edition profiles the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, with emphasis on dental-specific considerations. More than 800 drug monographs make it easy to find information such as dosages, indications, contraindications, interactions, precautions, side effects, and serious reactions. Online resources include over 100 additional drug monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, and more. From lead editor Arthur Jeske, a well-known researcher and author in dental pharmacology, this pocket-sized reference provides the current, concise drug information you need at the point of care. More than 800 drug monographs include each drug's generic name, pronunciation, brand names, drug class, controlled substances schedule, mechanism of action, uses or indications, doses and routes of administration, side effects/adverse reactions, contraindications, precautions, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions of concern to dentistry, and more. Detailed dental considerations at the end of each monograph include an easy-to-use, bulleted list of specific dental-related information as well as general drug information. Durable, pocket-sized format provides essential drug information at a glance, and makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Emphasis on oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygienist's perspective makes it easier to use drug information for patient and family education. Coverage of oral contraceptives provides dental information on these commonly used drugs, often known only by their brand names. Primers in the front of the guide include information on biologic agents, medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw, and a list of online resources for the management of medically compromised patients along with management of common oral lesions. Evolve companion website includes more than 100 additional monographs, photos of common oral complications, patient education guides, information on herbs and alternative medicine, and more. NEW! More than 50 new monographs include newly released, FDA-approved drugs and up-to-date content on the latest drug therapies.
Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Tests by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. PaganaThis quick reference handbook offers clear, concise coverage of over 700 of the most commonly performed diagnostic and laboratory tests including 39 new to this edition. Trusted authors, Kathleen Pagana, PhD, RN and Timothy Pagana, MD, FACS, bring together a comprehensive collection of full color designs, illustrations and photos to show exactly how various tests are performed. Related tests are grouped by chapter and presented in a consistent format to facilitate a full understanding of each type of diagnostic test.UNIQUE Coverage of the clinical significance of test results explains why a given test result indicates specific diseases.Full-color design clarifies key concepts, procedures, and testing techniques.Related Tests sections list tests that provide similar information or are used to evaluate the same body system, disease process, or symptom. NEW Unique front section on coding for diagnostic and laboratory tests (ICD-10) provides explanations of the coding requirements and challenges for diagnostic testing along with codes for all tests in the manual. NEW 39 of the most current laboratory and diagnostic tests have been added to this new edition to reflect current best practices.NEW Updated photographs and illustrations reflect the latest changes in testing equipment."
Publication Date: 2013-10-21
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by Angela C. Chi; Brad W. Neville; Douglas D. Damm; Carl M. AllenSee how to identify and effectively manage oral diseases! Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 4th Edition provides state-of-the-art information on the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos - that's more than any other reference - bring pathologies and conditions to life. New to this edition is coverage of the latest advances in diagnosis and disease management, plus topics such as hereditary dental anomalies and oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers. Written by well-known oral pathology educators Brad Neville, Douglas Damm, Carl Allen, and Angela Chi, this market leader is your go-to reference for the care of patients with oral disease! Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry by Frank J. Dowd; Bart Johnson; Angelo MariottiGain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions. Developed by Frank Dowd, Barton Johnson, and Angelo Mariotti, with chapters from a team of expert contributors, this is the only book written by dental pharmacologists for the dental market. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care. Concise, comprehensive coverage helps you provide safe and effective dental care, exploring the fundamentals of pharmacology and clearly explaining actions of specific drug groups on systems in the human body in addition to covering special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy. An emphasis on the dental applications of pharmacology shows how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in any medications the patient may be taking. Practical appendices provide easy access to essential information, summarizing topics such as drug interactions in clinical dentistry, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbs, controlled substances, protein biopharmaceuticals, drugs used to treat glaucoma, and abbreviations. Clinical Rationale for and Significance of Prescription Writing chapter and two appendices on drug prescribing cover both the medications that a patient may already be taking and drugs that a dentist may prescribe for treatment. Nearly 50 expert contributors represent a diverse, authoritative panel of authors from many of the major dental schools. NEW! Reorganized content is more concise, more relevant, and more visual, with a stronger focus on what you need to know for clinical practice. NEW! Case studies at the beginning of chapters and case discussions at the end help you connect pharmacologic concepts and principles with clinical practice. NEW summary tables and boxes provide quick reference to vital information, and include all-new tables on drug indications and mechanisms. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations are added to this edition, enhancing realism and visual learning. NEW companion website provides references linked to PubMed. NEW! Bullet points list key information at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting need-to-know concepts.
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. AsterDependable, current, and complete, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 9th Edition is the perennially best-selling text that you'll use long after your medical student days are behind you. A world-class author team headed by Drs. Vinay Kumar, Abul Abbas, and Jon Aster, delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. High-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. Rely on uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for course work. Simplify your study with an outstanding full-color, highly user-friendly design. Stay up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing and mechanisms of disease. Consult new Targeted Therapy boxes online that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases. Gain a new perspective in key areas thanks to contributions from new authors at the top of their fields. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. Further your understanding with access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries on the Student Consult site, including pathology case studies and videos and self-assessment questions.