Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office by Stanley F. Malamed"..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies." Reviewed by L. Khamashta Ledezma on behalf of European Journal of Orthodontics, February 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Essentials of Rubin's Pathology by Emanuel Rubin; Howard M. ReisnerEssentials of Rubin's Pathology, Sixth Edition, is a condensed version of the main title, Rubin's Pathology, 6e. Targeted to students in allied health fields, including dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, physician assistant, chiropractic, and occupational therapy, Essentials of Rubin's Pathology follows the same format as Rubin's Pathology, covering principles and mechanisms of pathology in the first section and organ-specific pathology in the second section. Essentials extracts key information on pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical features of diseases. Illustrations -- whether schematic or photographic -- are also all derived from the main text. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable online text, case studies, audio review questions, Podcasts, and an image bank and test generator for faculty.
General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by Leslie DeLong; Nancy W. BurkhartThis updated Third Edition of General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist provides the information students need to develop an understanding of basic pathology and recognize the clinical manifestations of oral and systemic disease. In accordance with ADEA Curriculum Guidelines, which stress the recognition of oral disease based on clinical signs and symptoms, the oral pathology section is uniquely organized by distinct clinical/radiographic features of oral lesions to help students evaluate and categorize lesions according to appearance, emphasizing the concept of differential diagnosis. This edition features new "Oral Medicine Considerations" that highlight the relationship between oral and systemic disease, a stunning collection of art work with over 600 images, and a wide range of online resources, such as case studies and practice questions, that reinforce student learning.
Call Number: WU140 D361g 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-24
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by Elena Bablenis HavelesEasy to read and easy to follow, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 6th Edition provides an understanding of the basic principles of pharmacology. It covers the most common drugs that you will encounter in clinical practice -the drugs a patient may already be taking and the drugs prescribed by the dentist. A logical and consistent organization makes it easy to look up drug group indications, pharmacokinetics, pharmacologic effects, adverse reactions, drug interactions, and dosages. Ensure patient safety with this essential reference! Drug interactions are emphasized, with explanations of why specific drugs may or may not be appropriate for use in a dental treatment plan. Note boxes highlight important concepts, indications, contraindications, memory tools, warnings, and more. Chapter review questions help you assess your understanding. Informative appendixes make it easy to look up need-to-know information. A new Hygiene-Related Oral Disorders chapter summarizes prevention and treatment of dental caries, gingivitis, and tooth hypersensitivity. A new Natural/Herbal Products and Dietary Supplements chapter relates this fast-growing area to dental hygiene. New Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes show how principles of pharmacology apply specifically to dental hygienists. Additional illustrations and tables simplify difficult concepts, including topics such as receptors and metabolism. A new full-color insert illustrates examples of many common oral pathological conditions.
Case Studies in Dental Hygiene by Evelyn ThomsonCase Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is designed to guide the development of criti-cal-thinking skills and the application of theory to care at all levels of dental hygiene education-from beginning to advanced students. This textbook is designed to be used throughout the dental hygiene curriculum. Because the questions and decisions regarding treatment of each case span the dental hygiene sciences and clinical practice protocols, this book will find a place in enhanc-ing every course required of dental hygiene students. Introducing this text at the beginning of the educational experience may help the student realize early on the link between theory and patient care. Students then progress through the program with a heightened awareness of evidence-based practice. Students also perceive an increase in confidence regarding preparation for board examina-tions when they have been given the opportunity to practice case-based decision making. Case Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is a viable study guide to help students prepare for suc-cess on national, regional, and state examinations with a patient care focus. This revised edition also is an excellent review text for the graduating dental hygiene student who is preparing to take the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination.
Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials by Marcia Stewart; Michael D. Bagby; Marcia GladwinThis book is a comprehensive, yet user-friendly, and clinically focused text on materials for dental hygiene that logically presents the theoretical aspects of materials while also making the clinical application to best prepare students to handle materials. The text's unique strength is its outline approach to presenting materials information. This outline approach, consistent with the format of Wilkins, is preferred by the market because it is clear, to the point, and concise. Clinical Aspects of Dental Materials also incorporates useful chapter features, but no fluff, case studies, and skills checklists that can be used in the laboratory portion of the course.
Foundation of Periodontics Dental Hygienist by Jill S. GehrigComprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease. Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Fifth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.