Case Studies in Dental Hygiene by Evelyn ThomsonCase Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is designed to guide the development of criti-cal-thinking skills and the application of theory to care at all levels of dental hygiene education-from beginning to advanced students. This textbook is designed to be used throughout the dental hygiene curriculum. Because the questions and decisions regarding treatment of each case span the dental hygiene sciences and clinical practice protocols, this book will find a place in enhanc-ing every course required of dental hygiene students. Introducing this text at the beginning of the educational experience may help the student realize early on the link between theory and patient care. Students then progress through the program with a heightened awareness of evidence-based practice. Students also perceive an increase in confidence regarding preparation for board examina-tions when they have been given the opportunity to practice case-based decision making. Case Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is a viable study guide to help students prepare for suc-cess on national, regional, and state examinations with a patient care focus. This revised edition also is an excellent review text for the graduating dental hygiene student who is preparing to take the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination.
General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by Leslie DeLong; Nancy W. BurkhartThis updated Third Edition of General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist provides the information students need to develop an understanding of basic pathology and recognize the clinical manifestations of oral and systemic disease. In accordance with ADEA Curriculum Guidelines, which stress the recognition of oral disease based on clinical signs and symptoms, the oral pathology section is uniquely organized by distinct clinical/radiographic features of oral lesions to help students evaluate and categorize lesions according to appearance, emphasizing the concept of differential diagnosis. This edition features new "Oral Medicine Considerations" that highlight the relationship between oral and systemic disease, a stunning collection of art work with over 600 images, and a wide range of online resources, such as case studies and practice questions, that reinforce student learning.
Call Number: WU140 D361g 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-24
Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by Angela C. Chi; Brad W. Neville; Douglas D. Damm; Carl M. AllenSee how to identify and effectively manage oral diseases! Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, 4th Edition provides state-of-the-art information on the wide variety of diseases that may affect the oral and maxillofacial region. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos - that's more than any other reference - bring pathologies and conditions to life. New to this edition is coverage of the latest advances in diagnosis and disease management, plus topics such as hereditary dental anomalies and oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers. Written by well-known oral pathology educators Brad Neville, Douglas Damm, Carl Allen, and Angela Chi, this market leader is your go-to reference for the care of patients with oral disease! Comprehensive contemporary overview of oral and maxillofacial pathology includes a brief description of each individual lesion or pathologic condition and the kind of pathologic process that it represents, followed by a discussion of its clinical and/or radiographic presentation, histopathologic features, and its treatment and prognosis. Over 1,400 radiographs and full-color clinical photos facilitate the identification and classification of lesions and disease states. Up-to-date concepts of pathogenesis and disease management help you understand the diseases that affect oral and maxillofacial structures, formulate an accurate diagnosis, and institute proper treatment. Logical organization by body system or disease process makes it easy to look up specific conditions. Comprehensive appendix on differential diagnosis organizes disease entities according to their most prominent or identifiable clinical features, helping you find and formulate differential diagnoses. Information on forensic dentistry, methamphetamine, and gene mutations addresses some of today's leading topics in oral pathology research. Differential diagnosis case studies on the Evolve companion website include correct answers and rationales, offering more opportunities to improve your identification skills and diagnostic competency. NEW cutting-edge content includes pathologies and conditions such as localized juvenile spongiotic gingival hyperplasia, oral lesions associated with cosmetic fillers, oropharyngeal carcinomas related to human papillomavirus (HPV), IgG4-related disease and mammary analogue secretory carcinomas, Globodontia, Lobodontia, Leishmaniasis, and Xanthelasma. Over 130 NEW full-color photos and over 40 NEW radiographs bring common and uncommon disease states more clearly to life.
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by Olga A. C. Ibsen; Joan Andersen PhelanOral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist is your source for the most trusted content in oral pathology. With more than 50 years of combined real-world experience, Olga Ibsen and Joan Phelan have created a text that offers the ideal combination of clinical photographs, radiographs and discussion to help you identify, understand, evaluate, and document the appearance of normal and disease states. This user-friendly, atlas-style text features the learning tools and updated content you need to prepare for success on your exams and throughout your professional career. More than 500 high-quality illustrations, radiographs, and photographs bring oral pathology to life with some of the best clinical examples available to help you learn to identify and differentiate disease states. Review questions at the end of each chapter, written in the style of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), reinforce your understanding of chapter content and provide excellent test preparation. Synopsis Tables break down and highlight the most important information from each chapter, helping you to differentiate among the various types of pathological conditions. The Evolve companion website offers a practice exam, interactive pathology identification exercises, case studies, and more study tools. NEW! Additional photos and illustrations help you clearly visualize abnormalities. NEW! Mobile downloads allow you to take photographs and radiographs with you on smartphones, tablets, and other mobile devices. NEW! Content on human papillomavirus (HPV) and diabetes keeps you up to date with the latest research and findings.
Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques by Joen Iannucci; Laura Jansen HowertonSet yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by Esther M. Wilkins; Charlotte J. Wyche; Linda D. BoydConsidered the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, 12e helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today''s rapidly changing oral health care environment. Written by one of the preeminent voices in dental hygiene education, the book progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward, outline format, making information easy to locate, understand, and reference. To help readers prepare for effective, culturally sensitive practice, six sections of the 12th Edition conform to the Dental Hygiene Process of Care: Assessment, Diagnosis, Care Planning, Implementation, Education, and, new to this edition, Documentation. Updated and revised throughout, this edition includes new material on motivational interviewing, risk assessment, and alternate practice settings, and is enhanced by new clinically relevant color photos, and real-world examples. New Enhance Your Understanding boxes identify all print and digital resources available by chapter, including the hands-on Workbook, online learning tools on thePoint, and prepU adaptive quizzing. Updated section on Documentation as a part of the Dental Hygiene Process of Care, this brings the clinical care of a patient full circle. New coverage of motivational interviewing shows students how to use this proven communication method to elicit and strengthen the patient''s intrinsic motivation to work toward positive change in oral health. Updated content on Risk Assessment for Oral Disease added to Chapters 12, 19, and 27 prepares readers for this key aspect of effective practice. New clinically relevant color photos and real world examples help readers connect what they''re learning to practice. New information on alternative practice settings prepares readers for successful practice. Halmark Features: A detailed outline format makes information easier to locate and is ideal for students preparing for Licensure Board examinations. Step-by-step instructions cover all aspects of dental hygiene from radiologic diagnosis and technique to treating patients with special needs and medical/dental areas of concern, such as infectious diseases, allergic reactions, blood disorders, and medications. Everyday Ethics boxes give students an opportunity to explore the types of clinical problems they are likely to encounter in real-life practice. Factors to Teachthe Patientboxes cover topics of interest when teaching patients, family members, and the community self-care and responsibility for oral health. In-depth coverage of Documentation includes example documentation notes written in the SOAP notes format, demonstrating the importance of including such notes in each patient''s permanent record. Chapter-opening Outlines provide an at-a-glance overview and help readers locate specific topics quickly. Chapter-opening Learning Objectivesprovide a road map to important information that must be mastered. Key Words boxes identify spelling and define new vocabulary terms in context. Each key word is listed in the index to facilitate quick reference to all definitions. Student Resources: Quiz Bank, Audio Glossary Instructor Resources: Test Bank, Lesson Plans, PowerPoint Presentations, Image Bank, Answers to the exercises found in the Active Learning Workbook, LMS Cartridges
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk & Stacks WU18.2 W684c 2017; One copy of the 2013 edition also on reserve and one available for checkout in the stacks