Essentials of Rubin's Pathology by Emanuel Rubin; Howard M. ReisnerEssentials of Rubin's Pathology, Sixth Edition, is a condensed version of the main title, Rubin's Pathology, 6e. Targeted to students in allied health fields, including dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, physician assistant, chiropractic, and occupational therapy, Essentials of Rubin's Pathology follows the same format as Rubin's Pathology, covering principles and mechanisms of pathology in the first section and organ-specific pathology in the second section. Essentials extracts key information on pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical features of diseases. Illustrations -- whether schematic or photographic -- are also all derived from the main text. A companion Website will offer the fully searchable online text, case studies, audio review questions, Podcasts, and an image bank and test generator for faculty.
General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by Leslie DeLong; Nancy W. BurkhartThis updated Third Edition of General and Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist provides the information students need to develop an understanding of basic pathology and recognize the clinical manifestations of oral and systemic disease. In accordance with ADEA Curriculum Guidelines, which stress the recognition of oral disease based on clinical signs and symptoms, the oral pathology section is uniquely organized by distinct clinical/radiographic features of oral lesions to help students evaluate and categorize lesions according to appearance, emphasizing the concept of differential diagnosis. This edition features new "Oral Medicine Considerations" that highlight the relationship between oral and systemic disease, a stunning collection of art work with over 600 images, and a wide range of online resources, such as case studies and practice questions, that reinforce student learning.
Call Number: WU140 D361g 2019
Publication Date: 2018-01-24
H211 Head and Neck Anatomy
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by Margaret J. Fehrenbach; Susan W. HerringKnown for its top-notch artwork and readable writing style, Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 5th Edition, provides dental assisting and dental hygiene students with complete coverage of head and neck anatomy, plus detailed discussions of the temporomandibular joint and its role in dental health, the anatomy of local anesthesia, and the spread of dental infection. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study and include expanded review questions that help prepare you for classroom and board examinations. Combine this new edition with its companion title, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, and you will have a solid foundation of basic scientific knowledge that ties to everyday clinical dental practice. Identification exercises at the end of each chapter ask you to label the different structures to test your knowledge of anatomy. Multiple-choice review questions end each chapter and prepare you for board examinations in dental assisting and dental hygiene. Comprehensive coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy, with an in-depth discussion of the TMJ and its role in dental health, plus additional material on the anatomy of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Conversational writing style ensures that you easily comprehend complex anatomy and clinical application. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study so that discussions progress logically from overviews of the area to the specifics related to the head and neck, providing a solid foundation for learning. Detailed anatomical illustrations and clear, colorful photographs show models and patients within a clinical setting to support text descriptions and help ensure comprehension. Award-winning and trusted author Margaret Fehrenbach curates cutting-edge content and the latest evidence-based information. Key terms and their phonetic pronunciations are highlighted within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. A how-to appendix with accompanying photos shows you the steps to perform extraoral and intraoral patient examinations. Learning objectives open each chapter with goals to be accomplished, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and exam preparedness. NEW and UPDATED! New content and updated chapter discussions include evidence-based information on local anesthesia administration and temporomandibular joint (TMJ) disorders. EXPANDED! Additional end-of-chapter review questions help you assess strengths and weaknesses - and prepare for classroom and board examinations. EXPANDED and REORGANIZED! Clinical content is now woven into the text discussions and expanded within chapters to help reinforce its application to dental treatment, strengthen your critical thinking skills, and better prepare you for clinical encounters. EXPANDED! 36 removable color flashcards offer on-the-go study, with key images on one side and corresponding labels on the back.
Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy by Margaret J. Fehrenbach; Tracy PopowicsFeaturing a full-color review of dental structures, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, 4th Edition provides a complete look at the development, cellular makeup, and morphology of the teeth and associated structures. A clear, reader-friendly writing style makes it easy to understand both basic science and clinical applications, putting the material into the context of everyday dental practice. New to this edition are updates on caries risk, safe levels of fluoride use, and prevention of periodontal disease. Expert authors Margaret Fehrenbach and Tracy Popowics provide an essential background in oral biology for dental hygiene and dental assisting students, including excellent preparation for board exams. Comprehensive coverage includes all the content needed for an introduction to the developmental, histological, and anatomical foundations of oral health. Hundreds of full-color anatomical illustrations and clinical and microscopic photographs accompany text descriptions of anatomy and biology. An approachable writing style covers the latest evidence-based information and makes it easy to grasp and learn to apply the material. A logical organization separates the book into four units for easier understanding: (1) an introduction to dental structures, (2) dental embryology, (3) dental histology, and (4) dental anatomy. Key terms open each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the text, and a glossary provides a quick and handy review and research tool. Clinical Considerations boxes relate abstract-seeming biological concepts to everyday clinical practice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter clearly identify the information you are expected to absorb. Summary tables and boxes provide quick, easy-to-read summaries of concepts and procedures and serve as useful review and study tools. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with practice quizzes, samplecase studies, review questions, and interactive exercises. A student workbook offers a wealth of interactive exercises, including labeling/structure identification to master anatomy, word-search and crossword puzzles for vocabulary practice, detailed guidelines for tooth drawing, and illustrated case studies with follow-up questions; in the back of the book, 32 removable flashcards provide practice on identifying permanent teeth and their features and characteristics. Sold separately. A bibliography lists resource citations for further research and study. Expert author Margaret Fehrenbach is one of the most trusted names in dental hygiene education, and writes extensively, lectures widely, and consults for many of the major dental manufacturers and supply companies. NEW! Updated coverage includes the newest evidence-based information on orofacial embryology, especially enamel formation; orofacial histology including fibroblasts, microplicae, keratin, collagen proteins, aging, repair, 3-D tissue engineering, mucoperiosteum, dental pulp stem cells, and platelet-rich plasma; root anatomy; and the latest guidelines on dental biofilm, fluoride use, smile design, periodontal procedures, endoscopy, saliva testing, enamel remineralization, periimplant disease, myofunctional therapy, and orthodontic therapy intervention. NEW color illustrations, photomicrographs, and diagrams add detail and help to build comprehension. NEW co-author Tracy Popowics, PhD, provides research and expertise related to advanced dental content.
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk WU101 B331i 2016 (older editions available in the Stacks)
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
H214 Oral Anatomy
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by Stanley J. NelsonApplying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry. Over 900 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood, and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate 26 tooth views from multiple directions, while 27 3-D animations demonstrate dental structure and mandibular movement, helping you refine your skills in tooth identification and examination. 64 detachable flash cards show tooth traits and many illustrations from the book, making it easy to prepare for tests as well as for the NBDE and NBDHE. Over 200 multiple-choice review questions and answers let you assess your understanding of the content. 32 labeling exercises on Evolve challenge you to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy [?] with drag-and-drop labels. NEW Clinical Applications of Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion chapter includes practical applications and case studies, including instructions on root planing and scaling, extraction techniques and forces, relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form, and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs, all preparing you for the NBDE's new focus on clinical applications. NEW photos, illustrations, and research keep you up to date with the latest dental information. Three NEW animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate occlusal adjustments.
The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care by Cynthia A. Stegeman; Judi Ratliff DavisLearn how to apply nutritional principles to promote optimal patient care! The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care, 5th Edition explains how teaching proper nutrition can improve your clients' oral and systemic health. Case studies and clear, full-color photos and illustrations provide a basis for assessing, diagnosing, planning, implementing, and evaluating the care of patients. In addition, a solid foundation in nutrition prepares you for the subject's increased emphasis on the NBDHE examination. Written by an interdisciplinary author team with expertise in nutrition and dental hygiene, this book was the first nutritional guide designed specifically for dental hygienists! UNIQUE! Biochemistry chapter covers the essential concepts tested on the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). UNIQUE! Coverage of vitamins and minerals is based on the oral effects of micronutrients. Clinically relevant applications to dental hygiene include a focus on patient education and dental hygiene considerations in each chapter. Case studies and Health Applications demonstrate how nutrition concepts can be applied to specific patient situations. Learning features include pretests and key terms highlighted in each chapter, with definitions in the glossary. Practice quizzes online allow you to test your comprehension, and include feedback and remediation for incorrect answers. NEW! Updated content addresses interdisciplinary practice and the FDA's Food Safety Modernization Act, with expanded coverage of older adults, vitamin D, and nutrigenomics. NEW! Coverage of the latest federal nutrition standards includes the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Nutrition Facts label, and more. NEW! UPDATED full-color illustrations include additional clinical photos as well as food-source photos in the micronutrient chapters.
Essentials of General, Organic, and Biochemistry by Denise GuinnAn innovative text from a highly experienced instructor, Denise Guinns Essentials of General, Organic, and Biochemistry offers a truly integrated approach to the course, with organic and biochemistry thoughtfully woven into every chapter. With its numerous connections between chemical concepts and health care applications, cases from clinical practice, and problem-solving support, Essentials of GOB provides students everything they need to learn the fundamentals of chemistry in the context of their future careers.
Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques by Joen Iannucci; Laura Jansen HowertonSet yourself up for success with this must-have oral radiography text. Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques gives you a comprehensive foundation for the safe, effective use of radiation in the modern dental office. This combination textbook and training manual features easy-to-understand content combined with step-by-step techniques and a stellar art program to help you apply what you've learned to practice. Plus, new content focuses on pediatrics and the latest in digital and three-dimensional technology! Comprehensive coverage offers all the information you need to know to prepare for board exams. Step-by-step procedures help ensure technique mastery and serve as a valuable reference tool. Technique Tips help you to recognize and prevent the most common performance pitfalls. Quiz questions provide valuable self-assessment of important concepts. Key terminology is highlighted in chapter discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Learning objectives and chapter summaries serve as goal-setting study tools. EXPANDED! Content on pediatrics/adolescents, digital imaging, and three-dimensional radiography ensures that you're prepared to practice in the modern dental office. UPDATED! Art program depicts the newest technology and equipment and includes new illustrations of anatomy and technique. UNIQUE! Helpful Hint boxes isolate challenging material and offer tips to aid your understanding. NEW! Laboratory Manual provides workbook-style questions and activities to reinforce concepts and step-by-step instructions for in-clinic experiences. UNIQUE! Chapter on three-dimensional imaging helps you to prepare to enter private practice. UNIQUE! Full-color presentation helps you comprehend complex content.