Kaplan Medical National Dental Hygienist Licensure Exam
by Kaplan Publishing Staff (Editor); Paula Tomko
Call Number: Reserve Desk WU40 AA1 T658k 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-02
This book offers comprehensive review and the best strategies for the challenging dental hygiene licensing exams. Features include:Overview of National, Regional, and State Hygiene Board Exams Review of the content covered by the exam, from periodontics to oral health promotion Detailed answer explanations to reinforce knowledge and skills Full-length simulated National Board exam Illustrations of key dental concepts Complete case studies with color radiographs and imagesThe National Board exam is a paper and pencil exam. It is offered three times a year: March, July, and December, either at test centers or at dental school sites.To become a licensed dental hygienist, one must pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Exam. A score of 75 (of 99 points) is required to pass.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene
by Michele Leonardi Darby
Call Number: Reserve Desk WU18.2 M894 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-04
Your one-stop review for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 7th Edition is the most trusted review and study tool on the market. A total of 2,500 review questions including four online timed practice exams -- all with answers and rationales for remediation -- make this book stand out as a student favorite. Already known for its in-depth coverage, an easy-to-use outline format, and expert authorship, this review parallels the NBDHE with case studies, the "testlet" format for community health and research content, an emphasis on computer-based testing, and coverage of dynamic areas such as infection control and local anesthesia administration. Expert author Michele Darby provides the NBDHE review tool you cannot afford to be without! A comprehensive review includes all the necessary content for the NBDHE, with 2,500 review questions including four simulated exams. A logical organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE: (1) the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, (2) the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and (3) community health and research principles. NBDHE-style review questions offer practice and self-assessment relating to key content. A new 350-question examination complete with Components A and B mimics the format of the NBDHE and is included in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website; it provides answers, rationales, and a timer function. Three additional timed simulated practice examinations are provided on the companion website for additional test-taking experience. Case-based questions prepare you for the case studies and scenarios emphasized on the NBDHE. An outline format allows for easy review and study. Illustrations, diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiographs help in recognizing suspected pathologic processes and interpreting radiographs. Tables and boxes summarize concepts and procedures. Unique! Website tables in each chapter provide a quick reference to key sites for further research and study. Expert authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners, each of whom has an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. 1,450 NEW practice questions are added to this edition for a more complete review. Updated content reflects changes and advances in areas such as infection control, pharmacology, digital imaging, and local anesthesia administration. Expanded case studies promote critical thinking and provide practice with the complex cases that make up Component B of the examination. NEW full-color photographs, illustrations, and radiographs accurately represent dental conditions. Labeling and identification exercises are included, with electronic flashcards for added vocabulary practice.
Saunders Review of Dental Hygiene
by Margaret J. Fehrenbach; Jane Weiner
Call Number: Reserve Desk WU18.2 N425s 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Be prepared to take your national board with this full-length simulation of the NBDH exam. This bestselling resource now reflects the new case-based format of the national exam along with content that covers new guidelines, especially in the areas of infection control and pharmacology. As you prepare and practice for your exam, you will find multiple ways to study with over 60 clinical case studies, and 1,500 plus questions. The accompanying CD-ROM includes an electronic, simulated exam as well as other interactive-review activities, such as crossword puzzles and word finds. Over 60 "testlets" with accompanying questions, answers, and rationales present hygiene-specific cases that cover the major board topics. Simple, clean layout provides an "all-in-one" package with an outline format and review questions and answers in every chapter. Clear and accurate illustrations, including many new and photos and line drawings provide additional visual learning. New NBDHE Case Study Format in the form of "testlets" simulate the NBDH exam testing conditions. Bound-in CD-ROM includes a full, simulated exam with 350 questions, key terms, color images, crossword puzzles, word finds, and more. CD-ROM includes PowerPoint slides with mnemonic devices and references from the text to reinforce key information. Updated coverage in infection control and pharmacology follows the latest CDC guidelines and outlines dental considerations for newer drugs. Expanded use of tables and flow-charts make the content easier to digest, and flow-charts assist in clinical decision-making.
Success! in Dental Hygiene
by Demetra Daskalos Logothetis
Call Number: Reserve Desk WU18.2 L832s 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-02
This review book provides comprehensive information on all the unique needs of the dental hygienist. Organised by key content areas, it combines authoritative information in an outline format with an exam-style questions and answer review for the best preparation.