Anatomy by Eugene C. ToyFifty clinical cases help you excel at your anatomy coursework and the USMLE Step 1 The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve exam scores. This series helps you to learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. "Case Files: Anatomy: Second Edition" presents more than 50 clinical cases with open-ended questions which weave basic science concepts into the clinical scenario. Each case includes an extended discussion (including definitions and a pathophysiology discussion), key points, and 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions. The authors are experienced teachers from the University of Texas-Houston Medical School in Houston, Texas.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Anatomy Demystified by Dale Pierre LaymanSay goodbye to dry presentations, grueling formulas, and abstract theories that would put Einstein to sleep -- now there's an easier way to master the disciplines you really need to know. McGraw-Hill's "Demystified Series" teaches complex subjects in a unique, easy-to-absorb manner, and is perfect for users without formal training or unlimited time. They're also the most time-efficient, interestingly written "brush-ups" you can find. Organized as self-teaching guides, they come complete with key points, background information, questions at the end of each chapter, and even final exams. You'll be able to learn more in less time, evaluate your areas of strength and weakness and reinforce your knowledge and confidence. This clear, heavily-illustrated guide to the human body covers anatomy of cells and tissues, muscle tissue, major muscles of the body, nervous tissue, membranes, organs, cancer, the skin, the human skeleton, the nervous system, glands, the senses, the cardiovascular system, the immune system, the respiratory system, digestion, genitourinary system, the embryo, and more.
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Atlas of Clinical and Surgical Orbital Anatomy by Jonathan J. DuttonAtlas of Clinical and Surgical Orbital Anatomy, by Dr. Jonathan Dutton, demonstrates the complex area of orbital anatomy through unique illustrations and comprehensive coverage that goes from embryology to adult anatomy. This completely updated and revised new edition features a new chapter on the cavernous sinus, illustrations modified to reflect recent anatomic findings, and new sections covering clinical correlations. With access to the fully searchable text and a downloadable image gallery online at www.expertconsult.com, you'll have the detailed visual guidance you need to perform successful orbital surgery. Clearly see the nuances of each anatomic system with layered illustrations that use multiple artworks to display relevant structures and highlight key intricacies. Visualize each system three-dimensionally through depictions from frontal, lateral, and superior angles. Apply a comprehensive approach to common orbital diseases using coverage of clinical correlations from embryology to adult anatomy. Access the fully searchable text online at www.expertconsult.com, along with a downloadable image gallery. Master the anatomy-disease-surgery relationship thanks to new chapter sections on clinical correlations. Get a more complete understanding of orbital disease through a new chapter on the cavernous sinus and illustrations modified to reflect recent anatomic findings. Stay current on the newest research data with completely revised and updated chapters and references. Completely understand the complex area of orbital anatomy with this uniquely illustrated guide
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. NetterThe only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Call Number: Online - 7th ed (2019)
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Basic and Applied Bone Biology by David B. Burr (Editor); Matthew R. Allen (Editor)This book provides an overview of skeletal biology from the molecular level to the organ level, including cellular control, interaction and response; adaptive responses to various external stimuli; the interaction of the skeletal system with other metabolic processes in the body; and the effect of various disease processes on the skeleton. The book also includes chapters that address how the skeleton can be evaluated through the use of various imaging technologies, biomechanical testing, histomorphometric analysis, and the use of genetically modified animal models. Presents an in-depth overview of skeletal biology from the molecular to the organ level Offers "refresher" level content for clinicians or researchers outside their areas of expertise Boasts editors and many chapter authors from Indiana and Purdue Universities, two of the broadest and deepest programs in skeletal biology in the US; other chapter authors include clinician scientists from pharmaceutical companies that apply the basics of bone biology
Call Number: University Library QM569 .B37 2014
Publication Date: 2013-08-12
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by Valerie C. Scanlon; Tina SandersAlso Available Student Workbook for Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology, 7th Edition Ideal as a companion to the text. Perfect as a stand-alone study guide. Leading the way for nearly 25 years with unsurpassed clarity, content, and completeness. Make anatomy and physiology fun and easy to study. Through six editions, this best-selling text has led the way with exactly what you need to build a firm foundation in this must-know subject. A student-friendly writing style, superb art program, a wealth of learning opportunities in every chapter, and online activities instill confidence every step of the way. It's the perfect introduction to the world of anatomy. The 7th Edition delivers even more of what nursing and allied health students in a variety of disciplines need to meet the challenges of health care today. And, it's ready-made for multiple learning styles. Beyond the text! The Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks a wealth of instructor and student resources online at DavisPlus, including Davis Digital Version, your complete text online, full-color animations of A&P processes and concepts, interactive exercises for each animation, and interactive exercises for every chapter.
Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Essentials of Facial Growth by Donald H. Enlow; Mark G. Hans; Larry McGrew (Editor)This compact reference describes the clinically relevant aspects of the biological processes underlying craniofacial growth and development. Relates basic science to treatment planning, selection, and results; tooth movement; the effects of nonbiological prosthetic implants during growth; and more. Also provides detailed illustrations that clarify key concepts and developmental processes.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Kim E. Barrett; Susan M. Barman; Scott Boitano; Heddwen BrooksA succinct, up-to-date, and clinically relevant review of human physiology - trusted by generations of students and clinicians More than 600 full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2015. For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis. Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Whether you're a student who needs an outstanding review for the USMLE or a physician who wants to keep pace with the ever-changing field of medical physiology, Ganong's belongs on your desk. NEW to this edition: Section introductions that provide a foundation for the topic being discussed Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts* Expanded legends to help you learn more about the illustrations without having to refer back to the text
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Gross Anatomy by David A. Morton; Kurt Albertine; David Morton; K. Bo ForemanGet the BIG PICTURE of Gross Anatomy in the context of healthcare - and zero-in on what you really need to know to ace the course and board exams! A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture is the perfect bridge between review and textbooks. With an emphasis on what you truly need to know versus "what's nice to know," it features 450 full-color illustrations that give you a complete, yet concise, overview of essential anatomy. The book's user-friendly presentation consists of text on the left-hand page and beautiful full-color illustrations on the right-hand page. In this way, you get a "big picture" of anatomy principles, delivered one concept at a time -- making them easier to understand and retain. Striking the perfect balance between illustrations and text, Gross Anatomy: The Big Picture features: High-yield review questions and answers at the end of each chapter Numerous summary tables and figures that encapsulate important information 450 labeled and explained full-color illustrations A final exam featuring 100 Q&As Important clinically-relevant concepts called to your attention by convenient icons Bullets and numbering that break complex concepts down to easy-to-remember points
Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by Margaret J. Fehrenbach; Susan W. HerringKnown for its top-notch artwork and readable writing style, Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 5th Edition, provides dental assisting and dental hygiene students with complete coverage of head and neck anatomy, plus detailed discussions of the temporomandibular joint and its role in dental health, the anatomy of local anesthesia, and the spread of dental infection. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study and include expanded review questions that help prepare you for classroom and board examinations. Combine this new edition with its companion title, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, and you will have a solid foundation of basic scientific knowledge that ties to everyday clinical dental practice. Identification exercises at the end of each chapter ask you to label the different structures to test your knowledge of anatomy. Multiple-choice review questions end each chapter and prepare you for board examinations in dental assisting and dental hygiene. Comprehensive coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy, with an in-depth discussion of the TMJ and its role in dental health, plus additional material on the anatomy of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Conversational writing style ensures that you easily comprehend complex anatomy and clinical application. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study so that discussions progress logically from overviews of the area to the specifics related to the head and neck, providing a solid foundation for learning. Detailed anatomical illustrations and clear, colorful photographs show models and patients within a clinical setting to support text descriptions and help ensure comprehension. Award-winning and trusted author Margaret Fehrenbach curates cutting-edge content and the latest evidence-based information. Key terms and their phonetic pronunciations are highlighted within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. A how-to appendix with accompanying photos shows you the steps to perform extraoral and intraoral patient examinations. Learning objectives open each chapter with goals to be accomplished, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and exam preparedness. NEW and UPDATED! New content and updated chapter discussions include evidence-based information on local anesthesia administration and temporomandibular joint (TMJ) disorders. EXPANDED! Additional end-of-chapter review questions help you assess strengths and weaknesses - and prepare for classroom and board examinations. EXPANDED and REORGANIZED! Clinical content is now woven into the text discussions and expanded within chapters to help reinforce its application to dental treatment, strengthen your critical thinking skills, and better prepare you for clinical encounters. EXPANDED! 36 removable color flashcards offer on-the-go study, with key images on one side and corresponding labels on the back.
Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy by Margaret J. Fehrenbach; Tracy PopowicsFeaturing a full-color review of dental structures, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, 4th Edition provides a complete look at the development, cellular makeup, and morphology of the teeth and associated structures. A clear, reader-friendly writing style makes it easy to understand both basic science and clinical applications, putting the material into the context of everyday dental practice. New to this edition are updates on caries risk, safe levels of fluoride use, and prevention of periodontal disease. Expert authors Margaret Fehrenbach and Tracy Popowics provide an essential background in oral biology for dental hygiene and dental assisting students, including excellent preparation for board exams. Comprehensive coverage includes all the content needed for an introduction to the developmental, histological, and anatomical foundations of oral health. Hundreds of full-color anatomical illustrations and clinical and microscopic photographs accompany text descriptions of anatomy and biology. An approachable writing style covers the latest evidence-based information and makes it easy to grasp and learn to apply the material. A logical organization separates the book into four units for easier understanding: (1) an introduction to dental structures, (2) dental embryology, (3) dental histology, and (4) dental anatomy. Key terms open each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the text, and a glossary provides a quick and handy review and research tool. Clinical Considerations boxes relate abstract-seeming biological concepts to everyday clinical practice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter clearly identify the information you are expected to absorb. Summary tables and boxes provide quick, easy-to-read summaries of concepts and procedures and serve as useful review and study tools. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with practice quizzes, samplecase studies, review questions, and interactive exercises. A student workbook offers a wealth of interactive exercises, including labeling/structure identification to master anatomy, word-search and crossword puzzles for vocabulary practice, detailed guidelines for tooth drawing, and illustrated case studies with follow-up questions; in the back of the book, 32 removable flashcards provide practice on identifying permanent teeth and their features and characteristics. Sold separately. A bibliography lists resource citations for further research and study. Expert author Margaret Fehrenbach is one of the most trusted names in dental hygiene education, and writes extensively, lectures widely, and consults for many of the major dental manufacturers and supply companies. NEW! Updated coverage includes the newest evidence-based information on orofacial embryology, especially enamel formation; orofacial histology including fibroblasts, microplicae, keratin, collagen proteins, aging, repair, 3-D tissue engineering, mucoperiosteum, dental pulp stem cells, and platelet-rich plasma; root anatomy; and the latest guidelines on dental biofilm, fluoride use, smile design, periodontal procedures, endoscopy, saliva testing, enamel remineralization, periimplant disease, myofunctional therapy, and orthodontic therapy intervention. NEW color illustrations, photomicrographs, and diagrams add detail and help to build comprehension. NEW co-author Tracy Popowics, PhD, provides research and expertise related to advanced dental content.
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk WU101 B331i 2016 (older editions available in the Stacks)
Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Introduction to the Anatomy and Physiology of Children by Janet MacGregorFully updated, this new edition provides an introduction to normal, healthy physical development for all professionals who specialise in working with children. The author, an experienced nurse teacher, guides the reader through the key changes in body systems and functions from embryo to birth through childhood and adolescence. Chapter 1 sets the scene for physical needs in child development, such as the need to be warm and safe. Chapters 2 to 9 cover the body systems: skeletal; nervous; cardiovascular; respiratory; renal; digestive; reproductive; and immune. The embryology and physiological function at birth is explored in each chapter before the text moves on through the many changes over the next decade to puberty and the arrival at adult functioning. A new final chapter provides a holistic account of children's development, body and mind. Each chapter is illustrated with line drawings and tables, and ends with scenarios which illustrate how knowledge supports good practice in a real-life situation, and a quiz to consolidate learning. Concise and clearly written, this introductory text will be essential reading for all those working with children and families in the health and social care sector, enabling them to ensure children enjoy a safe and healthy childhood in line with Every Child Matters and new national service frameworknbsp;directives.
Publication Date: 2008-04-18
McMinn's Colour Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy by Bari M. Logan; Ralph T. Hutchings; Patricia Reynolds; Scott RiceOriginally published as part of the McMinn anatomy atlas family, McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy remains the only large format photographic atlas of the human head and neck, incorporating outstanding dissections, osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy images. It is the ideal study aid or trusted reference for the range of students and practitioners who require a detailed understanding of the head and neck, including those in dentistry, radiology and surgery. Dissections are accompanied by concise notes and commentaries, as well as orientational artworks to help readers locate the structure on the body. Dental anaesthesia information and important quick reference lists are also incorporated in appendices at the back of the book. This updated fifth edition offers increased clinical relevance and features an entirely new chapter on Imaging of the Head and Neck, reflecting the very latest modalities and techniques. It also comes with the complete, enhanced eBook for the first time. Increased clinical relevance - helps translate traditional anatomy into current clinical practice All new state-of-the-art clinical imaging - including: 3T MRI of the brain with tractography Cone-beam CT assessment of the jaws and middle ear Concise notes and commentaries for every dissection Dedicated dental section
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Medical Physiology by Rodney A. Rhoades; David R. BellMedical Physiology presents the physiological concepts essential to clinical medicine. Each chapter provides conceptual diagrams to facilitate comprehension of difficult concepts, and presents both normal and abnormal clinical conditions to illustrate how physiology serves as an important basis for diagnosis and treatment. Hallmark pedagogical features emphasize problem-solving skills and promote review and retention: Clinical Focus and From Bench to Bedside boxes, a comprehensive glossary, and online USMLE-style review questions with answers and explanations. Companion web site offers additional resources for students (question bank, animations, searchable text) and faculty (image and test banks, PowerPoint slides for use in class).
Schaum's Outlines by Kent M. Van De Graaff; R Ward Rhees; Sidney L. PalmerTough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by Stanley J. NelsonApplying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry. Over 900 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood, and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate 26 tooth views from multiple directions, while 27 3-D animations demonstrate dental structure and mandibular movement, helping you refine your skills in tooth identification and examination. 64 detachable flash cards show tooth traits and many illustrations from the book, making it easy to prepare for tests as well as for the NBDE and NBDHE. Over 200 multiple-choice review questions and answers let you assess your understanding of the content. 32 labeling exercises on Evolve challenge you to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy [?] with drag-and-drop labels. NEW Clinical Applications of Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion chapter includes practical applications and case studies, including instructions on root planing and scaling, extraction techniques and forces, relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form, and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs, all preparing you for the NBDE's new focus on clinical applications. NEW photos, illustrations, and research keep you up to date with the latest dental information. Three NEW animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate occlusal adjustments.