Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by Elena Bablenis HavelesEasy to read and easy to follow, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 6th Edition provides an understanding of the basic principles of pharmacology. It covers the most common drugs that you will encounter in clinical practice -the drugs a patient may already be taking and the drugs prescribed by the dentist. A logical and consistent organization makes it easy to look up drug group indications, pharmacokinetics, pharmacologic effects, adverse reactions, drug interactions, and dosages. Ensure patient safety with this essential reference! Drug interactions are emphasized, with explanations of why specific drugs may or may not be appropriate for use in a dental treatment plan. Note boxes highlight important concepts, indications, contraindications, memory tools, warnings, and more. Chapter review questions help you assess your understanding. Informative appendixes make it easy to look up need-to-know information. A new Hygiene-Related Oral Disorders chapter summarizes prevention and treatment of dental caries, gingivitis, and tooth hypersensitivity. A new Natural/Herbal Products and Dietary Supplements chapter relates this fast-growing area to dental hygiene. New Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes show how principles of pharmacology apply specifically to dental hygienists. Additional illustrations and tables simplify difficult concepts, including topics such as receptors and metabolism. A new full-color insert illustrates examples of many common oral pathological conditions.
Case Studies in Dental Hygiene by Evelyn ThomsonCase Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is designed to guide the development of criti-cal-thinking skills and the application of theory to care at all levels of dental hygiene education-from beginning to advanced students. This textbook is designed to be used throughout the dental hygiene curriculum. Because the questions and decisions regarding treatment of each case span the dental hygiene sciences and clinical practice protocols, this book will find a place in enhanc-ing every course required of dental hygiene students. Introducing this text at the beginning of the educational experience may help the student realize early on the link between theory and patient care. Students then progress through the program with a heightened awareness of evidence-based practice. Students also perceive an increase in confidence regarding preparation for board examina-tions when they have been given the opportunity to practice case-based decision making. Case Studies in Dental Hygiene, Third Edition, is a viable study guide to help students prepare for suc-cess on national, regional, and state examinations with a patient care focus. This revised edition also is an excellent review text for the graduating dental hygiene student who is preparing to take the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination.
Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by Esther M. Wilkins; Charlotte J. Wyche; Linda D. BoydConsidered the cornerstone text in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, 12e helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today''s rapidly changing oral health care environment. Written by one of the preeminent voices in dental hygiene education, the book progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward, outline format, making information easy to locate, understand, and reference. To help readers prepare for effective, culturally sensitive practice, six sections of the 12th Edition conform to the Dental Hygiene Process of Care: Assessment, Diagnosis, Care Planning, Implementation, Education, and, new to this edition, Documentation. Updated and revised throughout, this edition includes new material on motivational interviewing, risk assessment, and alternate practice settings, and is enhanced by new clinically relevant color photos, and real-world examples. New Enhance Your Understanding boxes identify all print and digital resources available by chapter, including the hands-on Workbook, online learning tools on thePoint, and prepU adaptive quizzing. Updated section on Documentation as a part of the Dental Hygiene Process of Care, this brings the clinical care of a patient full circle. New coverage of motivational interviewing shows students how to use this proven communication method to elicit and strengthen the patient''s intrinsic motivation to work toward positive change in oral health. Updated content on Risk Assessment for Oral Disease added to Chapters 12, 19, and 27 prepares readers for this key aspect of effective practice. New clinically relevant color photos and real world examples help readers connect what they''re learning to practice. New information on alternative practice settings prepares readers for successful practice. Halmark Features: A detailed outline format makes information easier to locate and is ideal for students preparing for Licensure Board examinations. Step-by-step instructions cover all aspects of dental hygiene from radiologic diagnosis and technique to treating patients with special needs and medical/dental areas of concern, such as infectious diseases, allergic reactions, blood disorders, and medications. Everyday Ethics boxes give students an opportunity to explore the types of clinical problems they are likely to encounter in real-life practice. Factors to Teachthe Patientboxes cover topics of interest when teaching patients, family members, and the community self-care and responsibility for oral health. In-depth coverage of Documentation includes example documentation notes written in the SOAP notes format, demonstrating the importance of including such notes in each patient''s permanent record. Chapter-opening Outlines provide an at-a-glance overview and help readers locate specific topics quickly. Chapter-opening Learning Objectivesprovide a road map to important information that must be mastered. Key Words boxes identify spelling and define new vocabulary terms in context. Each key word is listed in the index to facilitate quick reference to all definitions. Student Resources: Quiz Bank, Audio Glossary Instructor Resources: Test Bank, Lesson Plans, PowerPoint Presentations, Image Bank, Answers to the exercises found in the Active Learning Workbook, LMS Cartridges
Call Number: IUSD Library Reserve Desk & Stacks WU18.2 W684c 2017; One copy of the 2013 edition also on reserve and one available for checkout in the stacks
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist by Kathy Voigt GeurinkCreated by a dental hygienist for dental hygienists, Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist, 3rd Edition, helps you acquire the understanding to improve the oral health care of people throughout various communities and build a successful career in the public health sector. Learn how to effectively interact with and educate people of different cultures, plan and develop community projects, assess the risk of caries and other oral conditions, master ADEA Dental Hygiene Competencies, and more with proven, practical guidance. Comprehensive, cutting-edge content delivers everything you need to know to succeed in practice. Test-taking strategies help you confidently prepare for the community oral health portion of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). Up-to-date information on national initiatives details the goals and guidelines of various government programs. ADEA Dental Hygiene Competencies included at the end of each chapter highlight expectations you'll encounter as you enter the workforce. Dental Hygienist Mini-Profiles provide real-world perspectives to help you prepare for practice and plan your career. Applying Your Knowledge sections suggest ways you can begin improving oral health in your community. Guiding principles, learning objectives, vocabulary terms, and chapter summaries help you study more efficiently and reinforce your understanding of the most important concepts. Expanded Community Cases on the companion Evolve website test your ability to apply your knowledge to common scenarios you may encounter as a dental hygienist. UNIQUE! Healthy People 2020 Objectives give you a competitive edge with the most up-to-date science-based guidelines for promoting health and preventing disease. New chapter on Planning a Student Community Oral Health Project helps you confidently move from the classroom into the community and apply what you've learned to improve oral health care. Content updates keep you current on timely issues such as access to care, expanded career opportunities, caries risk assessment, fluoride and sealants, social responsibility and justice, and cultural competence.
Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice by Michele Leonardi Darby; Margaret WalshEmphasizing evidence-based research and clinical competencies, Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 4th Edition, provides easy-to-understand coverage of the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice. It offers a clear approach to science and theory, a step-by-step guide to core dental hygiene procedures, and realistic scenarios to help you develop skills in decision-making. New chapters and content focus on evidence-based practice, palliative care, professional issues, and the electronic health record. Written by Michele Leonardi Darby, Margaret M. Walsh, and a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, Dental Hygiene follows the Human Needs Conceptual Model with a focus on client-centered care that takes the entire person into consideration. UNIQUE! Human Needs Conceptual Model framework follows Maslow's human needs theory, helping hygienists treat the whole patient - not just specific diseases. Comprehensive coverage addresses the need-to-know issues in dental hygiene - from the rationale behind the need for dental hygiene care through assessment, diagnosis, care planning, implementation, pain and anxiety control, the care of individuals with special needs, and practice management. Step-by-step procedure boxes list the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Rationales for the steps are provided in printable PDFs online. Critical Thinking exercises and Scenario boxes encourage application and problem solving, and help prepare students for the case-based portion of the NBDHE. Client Education boxes list teaching points that the dental hygienist may use to educate clients on at-home daily oral health care. High-quality and robust art program includes full-color illustrations and clinical photographs as well as radiographs to show anatomy, complex clinical procedures, and modern equipment. Legal, Ethical, and Safety Issues boxes address issues related to risk prevention and management. Expert authors Michele Darby and Margaret Walsh lead a team of international contributors consisting of leading dental hygiene instructors, researchers, and practitioners. NEW chapters on evidence-based practice, the development of a professional portfolio, and palliative care provide research-based findings and practical application of topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. NEW content addresses the latest research and best practices in attaining clinical competency, including nutrition and community health guidelines, nonsurgical periodontal therapy, digital imaging, local anesthesia administration, pharmacology, infection control, and the use of the electronic health record (EHR) within dental hygiene practice. NEW photographs and illustrations show new guidelines and equipment, as well as emerging issues and trends. NEW! Companion product includes more than 50 dental hygiene procedures videos in areas such as periodontal instrumentation, local anesthesia administration, dental materials manipulation, common preventive care, and more. Sold separately.
The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care by Cynthia A. Stegeman; Judi Ratliff DavisLearn how to apply nutritional principles to promote optimal patient care! The Dental Hygienist's Guide to Nutritional Care, 5th Edition explains how teaching proper nutrition can improve your clients' oral and systemic health. Case studies and clear, full-color photos and illustrations provide a basis for assessing, diagnosing, planning, implementing, and evaluating the care of patients. In addition, a solid foundation in nutrition prepares you for the subject's increased emphasis on the NBDHE examination. Written by an interdisciplinary author team with expertise in nutrition and dental hygiene, this book was the first nutritional guide designed specifically for dental hygienists! UNIQUE! Biochemistry chapter covers the essential concepts tested on the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). UNIQUE! Coverage of vitamins and minerals is based on the oral effects of micronutrients. Clinically relevant applications to dental hygiene include a focus on patient education and dental hygiene considerations in each chapter. Case studies and Health Applications demonstrate how nutrition concepts can be applied to specific patient situations. Learning features include pretests and key terms highlighted in each chapter, with definitions in the glossary. Practice quizzes online allow you to test your comprehension, and include feedback and remediation for incorrect answers. NEW! Updated content addresses interdisciplinary practice and the FDA's Food Safety Modernization Act, with expanded coverage of older adults, vitamin D, and nutrigenomics. NEW! Coverage of the latest federal nutrition standards includes the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Nutrition Facts label, and more. NEW! UPDATED full-color illustrations include additional clinical photos as well as food-source photos in the micronutrient chapters.
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by Evelyn M. Thomson; Orlen JohnsonESSENTIALS OF DENTAL RADIOGRAPHY, 9/e is a clear, up-to-date, and student-friendly text that tightly links oral radiological principles with modern practice. It presents all information needed for introductory courses in dental radiography, preparing students for board and licensing examinations while offering real-world resources for clinical practice and patient management. Coverage includes: historical perspectives, radiation basics, biologic effects and protection, dental X-ray image receptors, processing techniques; dental radiographer fundamentals, intraoral and extraoral techniques, radiographic errors, quality assurance; mounting and viewing radiographs, and patient management. This Ninth Edition integrates coverage of digital imaging throughout, presents paralleling and bisecting techniques in separate chapters, and adds a new chapter on safety and environmental responsibilities. It also contains many new study questions and improved images.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WN230 T482e 2012
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist by Julie Frantsve-HawleyLike any other dental professional, dental hygienists must practice evidence-based dentistry (EBD) to provide the best care to their patients, whether it be through scaling and root planing, caries prevention, or patient education. This book is intended as a textbook for dental hygienists to learn the importance of EBD in the practice of dental hygiene as well as how to implement EBD practices and share EBD findings among office staff. As the dental knowledge base evolves and scientific discoveries are made, dental hygienists must understand how to seek out and evaluate findings and, if appropriate, apply them in their clinical practice, and this book provides all the necessary tools to do just that.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WU20.5 F85 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Foundation of Periodontics Dental Hygienist by Jill S. GehrigComprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease. Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Fifth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. MillerEmphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 6th Edition, is a go-to text for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as new chapters on patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy for you to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious disease, and new case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application. F Comprehensive coverage?looks at infection control and prevention from the perspective of all dental team members. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step procedures?are provided for skills that dental team members must master, each presented with a goal, materials, chronological steps, and rationales for the performance of each step. Review questions?ensure your comprehension of the material and provide practice for classroom and board examinations, with 10 to 20 multiple-choice questions at the end of each chapter. Key terms?begin each chapter and are highlighted within text discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide instant-feedback self-assessment. A highly approachable writing style makes this text a trusted educational tool, as well as a refresher on infection control. Trusted author and oral biology and infection control expert, Chris Miller, delivers the most up-to-date content needed to ensure patient safety and clinical competence within the dental office. Logically organized into three parts with brief chapters that move from foundational biology through specific areas of infection control and application to a dental office. Eight practical appendices?offer easy access to the most significant regulatory agency rules and recommendations for infection control. Chapter objectives help you set goals for what you will accomplish, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study tools in preparation for examinations. Summary tables and boxes?make study easier by highlighting key concepts and procedures and serve as useful review tools. NEW! Updated content based on the CDC's Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings, which includes additional topics and information to augment the 2003 Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. NEW! Two new chapters cover preparing for patient safety (focusing on training for dental personnel) and infection control breaches within dental offices. NEW!?Case scenarios?added to specific chapters examine an infection control incident, along with its potential consequences, possible preventive measures, and related recommendations and regulations. NEW and EXPANDED!?Additional full-color images?focus on disease states, disease transfer, and safety culture, helping improve teaching and learning.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene by Michele Leonardi DarbyYour one-stop review for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 7th Edition is the most trusted review and study tool on the market. A total of 2,500 review questions including four online timed practice exams -- all with answers and rationales for remediation -- make this book stand out as a student favorite. Already known for its in-depth coverage, an easy-to-use outline format, and expert authorship, this review parallels the NBDHE with case studies, the "testlet" format for community health and research content, an emphasis on computer-based testing, and coverage of dynamic areas such as infection control and local anesthesia administration. Expert author Michele Darby provides the NBDHE review tool you cannot afford to be without! A comprehensive review includes all the necessary content for the NBDHE, with 2,500 review questions including four simulated exams. A logical organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE: (1) the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, (2) the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and (3) community health and research principles. NBDHE-style review questions offer practice and self-assessment relating to key content. A new 350-question examination complete with Components A and B mimics the format of the NBDHE and is included in the back of the book and on the companion Evolve website; it provides answers, rationales, and a timer function. Three additional timed simulated practice examinations are provided on the companion website for additional test-taking experience. Case-based questions prepare you for the case studies and scenarios emphasized on the NBDHE. An outline format allows for easy review and study. Illustrations, diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiographs help in recognizing suspected pathologic processes and interpreting radiographs. Tables and boxes summarize concepts and procedures. Unique! Website tables in each chapter provide a quick reference to key sites for further research and study. Expert authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners, each of whom has an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. 1,450 NEW practice questions are added to this edition for a more complete review. Updated content reflects changes and advances in areas such as infection control, pharmacology, digital imaging, and local anesthesia administration. Expanded case studies promote critical thinking and provide practice with the complex cases that make up Component B of the examination. NEW full-color photographs, illustrations, and radiographs accurately represent dental conditions. Labeling and identification exercises are included, with electronic flashcards for added vocabulary practice.
Call Number: Reserve Desk WU18.2 M894 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-04
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist by Olga A. C. Ibsen; Joan Andersen PhelanOral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist is your source for the most trusted content in oral pathology. With more than 50 years of combined real-world experience, Olga Ibsen and Joan Phelan have created a text that offers the ideal combination of clinical photographs, radiographs and discussion to help you identify, understand, evaluate, and document the appearance of normal and disease states. This user-friendly, atlas-style text features the learning tools and updated content you need to prepare for success on your exams and throughout your professional career. More than 500 high-quality illustrations, radiographs, and photographs bring oral pathology to life with some of the best clinical examples available to help you learn to identify and differentiate disease states. Review questions at the end of each chapter, written in the style of the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE), reinforce your understanding of chapter content and provide excellent test preparation. Synopsis Tables break down and highlight the most important information from each chapter, helping you to differentiate among the various types of pathological conditions. The Evolve companion website offers a practice exam, interactive pathology identification exercises, case studies, and more study tools. NEW! Additional photos and illustrations help you clearly visualize abnormalities. NEW! Mobile downloads allow you to take photographs and radiographs with you on smartphones, tablets, and other mobile devices. NEW! Content on human papillomavirus (HPV) and diabetes keeps you up to date with the latest research and findings.
Practice Management for the Dental Team by Betty Ladley Finkbeiner; Charles Allan FinkbeinerLearn the business skills you need to run a dental office! Practice Management for the Dental Team, 8th Edition, is comprehensive one-stop resource for dental practice management and the only one that includes EagleSoft practice management software screen shots and exercises for a realistic office experience. This unique text provides practical information on a wide range of dental office skills, from managing patients to running the business. The 8th Edition covers changes in technology in the dental office, including the electronic health record (EHR); telecommunications; appointment scheduling and tracking, and dental office accounting and financial management. UNIQUE! Patterson Dental EagleSoft practice management content includes screen shots and original exercises that equip you with valuable realistic practice experience. Comprehensive coverage on the business of managing a dental practice provides vital information to ensure the success of any dental practice. Key terminology defined in the chapter's glossary and called out in boldface color within chapter discussions helps you understand dental practice and clinical dentistry terminology essential to the success of any team member. Learning Activities and Practice Notes encourage you to apply the content to realistic office situations and convey important tips and advice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter frame the content and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study. Summary tables and boxes provide easy-to-read summaries of text discussions that support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Expert author Betty Ladley Finkbeiner imparts knowledge and advice from her years of experience and wide reach in practice and education. Bibliographical citations direct you to targeted sources of information where additional dental-related information can be located. Appendixes provide supplemental information for quick and handy office reference. Ancillary content supplements the core text presentations, providing opportunities for practice and study. NEW and UPDATED! Electronic health record (EHR) content addresses the changes in technology related to the paperless dental office, telecommunications, appointment management, and financial systems to help you become compliant with EHR federal mandates. NEW! Practice quizzes for each chapter on the Evolve website help you test comprehension and prepare for classroom and board exams. NEW! Artwork focuses on new equipment and technology, specifically the paperless dental office.