Dental Assisting by Donna J. Phinney; Judy H. HalsteadWelcome to the Fourth Edition of an established, widely utilized, and reliable resource in dental assisting! As a dental assistant, you will be expected to take on an increasing number of clinical and administrative responsibilities to stay competitive. DENTAL ASSISTING: A COMPREHENSIVE APPROACH delivers inclusive coverage of the basic and advanced clinical skills you need to master. This complete learning system includes the most current information on leading dental practices/procedures, equipment, and patient safety standards, as well as, incorporates animation, video, step-by-step photo illustrations, real-life case studies, and dynamic review materials. Quite simply, this best-seller is a trusted resource for any dental assistant preparing for a successful career in the field.
Dental Assisting Instrument Guide by Donna J. Phinney; Judy H. HalsteadDENTAL ASSISTING INSTRUMENT GUIDE, 2nd Edition is the ideal pocket study guide, presenting the numerous instruments used in modern dentistry, along with proper functions, parts, and tray set-ups. Instruments for all practice areas are covered in detail, alongside supporting hundreds of color photos that make memorization easy. Compact and organized for quick reference, DENTAL ASSISTING INSTRUMENT GUIDE, 2nd Edition provides the fundamental instrument knowledge dental assistants need for success in the ever-changing field of dentistry
Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide by Linda Bartolomucci BoydLearn to confidently recognize and manage more than 300 dental instruments with Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide, 5th Edition. A unique flashcard-style format pairs descriptions with high-quality photographs and illustrations. A pocket-sized, spiral-bound format makes for quick reference. This edition also features content a new chapter on patient monitoring equipment and new content on facebow equipment, dental imaging devices, nitrous oxide equipment, and more to support expanded duties in dental assisting. With its portable and highly visual nature, Dental Instruments is ideal for both studying and for chairside reference. More than 450 high-quality photographs and illustrations include both full and close-up views to enhance your ability to quickly and accurately identify dental instruments. UNIQUE! Flashcard format makes it easy to assess your knowledge of dental instruments. Practice Notes and Sterilization boxes help you ensure compliance with common practice standards and state regulations. Well-organized format includes a text description of each instrument along with its name, functions, and characteristics. Chapters move from basic instruments into those used within specialty areas of dentistry. Pocket-sized, spiral-bound design provides easy, at-a-glance access to key information. NEW! Chapter on Patient Monitoring Equipment covers electrocardiography, capnography, and more. NEW! Artwork features images of the latest equipment models along with a significant increase in the number of "in-use" photos. UPDATED! New content on facebow transfers, dental imaging devices, nitrous oxide equipment, and more.
Essentials of Dental Assisting by Debbie S. Robinson; Doni L. BirdFully updated to include the latest procedures and trends, this practical resource focuses on the core clinical skills and knowledge you need to become a practicing dental assistant. The concise, full-color text has been specifically designed and written to help you easily grasp important DA information. And step-by-step procedures, application exercises, and a wealth of pedagogical aids ensure that you master all the necessary skills. Focus on Clinical Dental Assisting provides essential information on the core skills and procedures needed to become a practicing dental assistant. Approachable writing style ensures that you have a full understanding of text content. Easy-to-follow organization offers 29 succinct chapters that move from profession basics and sciences to infection control, chair-side treatment foundations, and patient care in general and specific dentistry. Step-by-step procedures of skills dental assistants must master feature a consistent format that includes a goal, equipment, chronological steps, and rationales. Procedure icons clearly indicate what issues/things must be identified when performing various core procedures. Ethical implications are featured at the end of each chapter's narrative to touch on important ethical considerations related to the chapter material. NEW! Content incorporates additional information on dynamic areas such as HIPAA laws and implications, digital imaging, dental materials, and caries prevention. NEW! Expanded and updated artwork focuses on newer products, materials, and equipment to remain current with technological advances in the modern dental office. NEW! Online student exercises on Evolve include crossword puzzles, and exercises on labeling, procedure-ordering, and instrument identification.
Essentials of Dental Radiography for Dental Assistants and Hygienists by Evelyn M. Thomson; Orlen JohnsonESSENTIALS OF DENTAL RADIOGRAPHY, 9/e is a clear, up-to-date, and student-friendly text that tightly links oral radiological principles with modern practice. It presents all information needed for introductory courses in dental radiography, preparing students for board and licensing examinations while offering real-world resources for clinical practice and patient management. Coverage includes: historical perspectives, radiation basics, biologic effects and protection, dental X-ray image receptors, processing techniques; dental radiographer fundamentals, intraoral and extraoral techniques, radiographic errors, quality assurance; mounting and viewing radiographs, and patient management. This Ninth Edition integrates coverage of digital imaging throughout, presents paralleling and bisecting techniques in separate chapters, and adds a new chapter on safety and environmental responsibilities. It also contains many new study questions and improved images.
Call Number: IUSD Library Stacks WN230 T482e 2012
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team by Chris H. MillerEmphasizing patient safety and disease prevention in the dental office, Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team, 6th Edition, is a go-to text for all members of the dental team. With discussions ranging from microbiology concepts to protocols for clinical asepsis, this comprehensive, highly practical text features the most up-to-date regulatory recommendations, as well as new chapters on patient safety preparation and infection control breaches. Step-by-step instructions make it easy for you to perform safety procedures and use the supplies and equipment needed to prevent the spread of infectious disease, and new case scenarios present opportunities for critical thinking and application. F Comprehensive coverage?looks at infection control and prevention from the perspective of all dental team members. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step procedures?are provided for skills that dental team members must master, each presented with a goal, materials, chronological steps, and rationales for the performance of each step. Review questions?ensure your comprehension of the material and provide practice for classroom and board examinations, with 10 to 20 multiple-choice questions at the end of each chapter. Key terms?begin each chapter and are highlighted within text discussions and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide instant-feedback self-assessment. A highly approachable writing style makes this text a trusted educational tool, as well as a refresher on infection control. Trusted author and oral biology and infection control expert, Chris Miller, delivers the most up-to-date content needed to ensure patient safety and clinical competence within the dental office. Logically organized into three parts with brief chapters that move from foundational biology through specific areas of infection control and application to a dental office. Eight practical appendices?offer easy access to the most significant regulatory agency rules and recommendations for infection control. Chapter objectives help you set goals for what you will accomplish, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study tools in preparation for examinations. Summary tables and boxes?make study easier by highlighting key concepts and procedures and serve as useful review tools. NEW! Updated content based on the CDC's Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings, which includes additional topics and information to augment the 2003 Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings. NEW! Two new chapters cover preparing for patient safety (focusing on training for dental personnel) and infection control breaches within dental offices. NEW!?Case scenarios?added to specific chapters examine an infection control incident, along with its potential consequences, possible preventive measures, and related recommendations and regulations. NEW and EXPANDED!?Additional full-color images?focus on disease states, disease transfer, and safety culture, helping improve teaching and learning.
Modern Dental Assisting by Doni L. Bird; Debbie S. RobinsonPrepare for a successful career as a dental assistant with Modern Dental Assisting, 11th Edition! Using an easy-to-understand approach, this book provides a complete foundation in the basic and advanced skills you must master to achieve clinical competence. Full-color photographs and clear, step-by-step instructions make it easy to learn dental assisting procedures. This edition includes content on the electronic health record, impact of the new health care law, and the new hazard communication standard. And as a complete learning package, it also includes an Evolve companion website with new videos demonstrating key procedures, practice quizzes, interactive games and exercises, and flashcards. Written by the expert dental assisting team of Doni Bird and Debbie Robinson, this is the leading text in dental assisting - the most trusted, the most comprehensive, and the most current. Comprehensive coverage makes this your single, start-to-finish source for dental assisting training. A highly approachable writing style presents the latest information and procedures in a way that makes it easy to understand and apply the material. Concise chapters presented within short parts move from profession basics and sciences to infection control, safety, clinical dentistry, radiography, materials, specialty dental practice, and dental office administration. Superb, full-color illustrations and photographs show procedures, equipment, and instruments. Illustrated, step-by-step procedures show the skills that dental assistants must master, detailing for each the goal, equipment and supplies needed, chronological steps, and rationales. Expanded Functions procedures boxes describe special dental assisting procedures allowed only in certain states. Procedure icons alert you to issues relating to core procedures, e.g., that you should make notes in the patient''s record, don personal protective equipment, or watch for moisture contamination. Key terms are accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, highlighted within the text, and defined in boxes on the same or facing page. Critical thinking questions end each chapter with mini-case scenarios and application-style questions. Learning and performance outcomes in each chapter set goals for what you will accomplish and also serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and study tools for exam preparation. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to review key concepts and procedures. Recall boxes appear after sections of text and include questions to ensure that you understand the material. CDC boxes cite the latest recommendations for infection control and summarize regulations. Eye to the Future boxes introduce cutting-edge research, future trends, and topics. Legal and Ethical Implications boxes focus on the behaviors that you will need to practice to protect yourself, your patients, and the practice for which you work. Patient Education boxes summarize content within the context of patient education take-away points. A glossary provides a quick and handy way to look up terminology, with chapter references indicating where terms are introduced and discussed within chapters. Interactive Dental Office program on the companion Evolve website provides 25 case studies with integrated radiographic mounting and dental charting exercises to help you problem-solve your way through a wide variety of dental conditions and procedures; games help you review and study in the areas of pathology, radiation safety, business office activities, workplace safety, oral anatomy, and dental instruments. Canadian Content Corner on the Evolve site highlights Canadian-specific dental information. A student workbook corresponds to the textbook and offers review and practice of essential tasks that dental assistants perform every day, plus competency skill sheets and detachable flashcards for on-the-go review. Sold separately. NEW content addresses the electronic patient record, impact of the new health care law, preventive techniques, and the new hazard communication standard. NEW, full-color photos show the latest technology, instruments, and procedures. NEW video on the companion Evolve website includes 10 new and 20 reshot video clips of dental assisting procedures, focusing on prevention, dental materials, and imaging; the Evolve website also includes review questions and answers to test your readiness for clinical experiences. EXPANDED! Online chapter quizzes on the Evolve companion website provide additional opportunities to assess your comprehension, along with rationales to reinforce concepts.
Practice Management for the Dental Team by Betty Ladley Finkbeiner; Charles Allan FinkbeinerLearn the business skills you need to run a dental office! Practice Management for the Dental Team, 8th Edition, is comprehensive one-stop resource for dental practice management and the only one that includes EagleSoft practice management software screen shots and exercises for a realistic office experience. This unique text provides practical information on a wide range of dental office skills, from managing patients to running the business. The 8th Edition covers changes in technology in the dental office, including the electronic health record (EHR); telecommunications; appointment scheduling and tracking, and dental office accounting and financial management. UNIQUE! Patterson Dental EagleSoft practice management content includes screen shots and original exercises that equip you with valuable realistic practice experience. Comprehensive coverage on the business of managing a dental practice provides vital information to ensure the success of any dental practice. Key terminology defined in the chapter's glossary and called out in boldface color within chapter discussions helps you understand dental practice and clinical dentistry terminology essential to the success of any team member. Learning Activities and Practice Notes encourage you to apply the content to realistic office situations and convey important tips and advice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter frame the content and serve as checkpoints for comprehension and study. Summary tables and boxes provide easy-to-read summaries of text discussions that support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Expert author Betty Ladley Finkbeiner imparts knowledge and advice from her years of experience and wide reach in practice and education. Bibliographical citations direct you to targeted sources of information where additional dental-related information can be located. Appendixes provide supplemental information for quick and handy office reference. Ancillary content supplements the core text presentations, providing opportunities for practice and study. NEW and UPDATED! Electronic health record (EHR) content addresses the changes in technology related to the paperless dental office, telecommunications, appointment management, and financial systems to help you become compliant with EHR federal mandates. NEW! Practice quizzes for each chapter on the Evolve website help you test comprehension and prepare for classroom and board exams. NEW! Artwork focuses on new equipment and technology, specifically the paperless dental office.
Prentice Hall Health's Complete Review of Dental Assisting by Emily AndujoThis exam preparation review book enables those pursuing dental assisting professional careers to review relevant material through the use of interactive technology, thereby gaining practice, and allowing them to become familiar with the types of questions given on board examinations. Designed in an easy-to-use outline format followed by sample practice test questions with answers and rationales, this text has the added feature of a CD-ROM, and links to the Prentice Hall Website. Links to numerous dental sites serve as an additional resource, and allow access to libraries all over the world. Topics covered in this comprehensive practice book are: overview of the National Board Examinations with study tips; biomedical sciences; dental anatomy; preventive dentistry; chairside assisting; dental radiology; dental materials; infection control; occupational safety; medical emergencies; and dental practice management. Designed to act as a study guide for students preparing to take the National Board Exams and/or for dental assistants to use as an important reference tool.
Radiographic Imaging for the Dental Team by Dale A. Miles; Margot L. Van Dis; Gail F. Williamson; Catherine W. JensenFully revised and up to date, the 4th edition of this trusted, all-in-one work-text helps you effectively acquire, process, and review dental radiographs and ensure successful patient outcomes. Learn and apply essential imaging techniques with ease while staying up-to-date on the latest technology and the most current practices in dental radiography. Concise, easy-to-read chapters detail the complete spectrum of radiographic imaging, supported by valuable review material to help you solidify your understanding of key concepts and prepare for professional success! Study questions at the end of each chapter help you assess your knowledge and identify areas requiring further review. Glossary of radiographic terms presents essential terms and definitions in one convenient place. UPDATED photographs and illustrations reflect the most current tools and technology in the field. Chapter on implant and extraoral imaging helps you better understand the link between these two related techniques and ensure the most accurate image evaluation. Design and chapter organization make content more accessible and inviting. Companion Evolve website reinforces your understanding with review activities and practice exams.