Databases at IUSD

An online search tool that provides physicians with smarter, faster clinical answers. Need to export searches? Click "more..."

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. Each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. The target audience for Cochrane Clinical Answers is healthcare practitioners and professionals, and other informed health care decision-makers.

Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other organizations.

Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion.

Over 40 reference, text and other books on dentistry and oral health.

Clinical decision support system that helps clinicians throughout the world provide the best patient care. Uses current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care saving clinicians' time, improving outcomes, and lowering health care costs.

U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)

Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a collection of illustrations and clinical images from textbooks such as Gilroy’s Atlas of Anatomy and Thieme Atlas of Anatomy.

Part of Wiley's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection, a joint production of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) who produce MEDLINE and Reed Elsevier who produce EMBASE. Contributors follow quality control standards to ensure only reports of definite randomized controlled trials or controlled clinical trials are included.

Pharmacology World has one of the most complete collections of teaching videos focused on pharmacology. There is an introductory video.

Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion.

Tool to evaluate the influence of research and journals (most frequently cited, impact factor). In the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Information on periodicals (active and ceased) including subjects and publication information. Tells you if a journal is peer-reviewed.

Precision searching for expert searchers of the Worldcat catalog of library holdings worldwide.
Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library.

Scholarly articles from major religion and theology journals from 1949-present.

Full text of congressional bills, Congressional Record, historical documents, and legislative process.

News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).

Access to U.S. Congressional materials including hearings, bills, Congressional Record, compiled legislative histories, statistical datasets, and more.