Easily browse for journal articles online through our electronic journals portal. Search for individual titles in the search box, or browse the journals by subject using the drop down menu below the search box.
When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.
Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Journal Title:Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.
If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.
Not sure what discipline covers your topic? Not finding enough information? Interdisciplinary databases contain articles from the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. They are a great way to see who is talking about your topic and to expand your research.
Web of Science and SCOPUS, while interdisciplinary, are weighted towards science.
If you have the citation of an article, you can quickly and easily find the full text from IUPUI using this Citation Linker.
Simply enter appropriate citation information into the form below, press the 'Look Up' button to view full text options.
Please include one of the Journal, ISSN, DOI, or PMID information.
When you search a library database, the URL in the browser window is usually NOT a persistent or stable URL (also known as PURLs (persistent universal resources locators)). That means, if you try to use the URL again at a later date to access the article, it won’t work. You need to make sure you use the persistent URL when linking to articles in library databases.
To find persistent URLs in library databases, click on the title of the article in which you are interested. The persistent URL will be called different names and appear in different locations depending on the database.
The tabs above give just a few examples, each database works a little differently.
A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is not a persistent URL, but it does operate kind-of like one. The DOI for an object will never change, even though the URL where the object is located might change. The DOI ensures that you'll always be able to locate the item.
10.1234/456-mydoc-456584893489 is an example of the DOI format. It always begins ‘10’ indicating this is a DOI name; the second part of the prefix is typically four digits, and is allocated to the DOI assigner. The suffix is created by the assigner, and can be any length and incorporate other numbering schemes.
A DOI can be assigned to any Object. For example: a scholarly journal article; a scholarly journal; a DVD or an item of equipment, etc.
Place ‘https://doi.org/’ in front of any doi number in order to locate the item (or use the link below).
All U.S. government documents have persistent URLs. You can search for government documents via the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. The PURL will have this root URL: http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/_______
In EBSCO databases, once you click on the title of document, in the right-hand column list of options, you’ll see “Permalink.” Click it for the persistent URL.
In ProQuest databases, after clicking the title, click the “Abstract/Details” tab and scroll towards the bottom of the page. There you’ll find the “Document URL.”
In JSTOR, after clicking the title, just above the article text is some bibliographic information. The stable URL is listed in that information.
In NexisUni, after clicking the title, to the far right of the title there is an "Actions" link with a dropdown. Click "Actions" for a "Link to this Page."
If you need an article or book chapter, our OpenILL request form that will attempt to locate an available copy before sending the request to other libraries. It's a relatively new tool, so please let us know if it links you to the wrong article.
For other requests or to view your account details, please log in to Interlibrary Loan.
