LibGuides: Public Affairs: Legal Research

Law Review Articles

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of law review articles. Also provides access to case law, legislation, company information and newspaper articles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Includes law reviews and many other sources. (To limit your search to case law, use the radio button below the search window.)
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
PDF versions of law review articles from over 2000 journals. (Also includes the Congressional Record.)

Cornell’s Legal Information Institute
It has links to the US Constitution, US Code, Code of Federal Regulation, US Supreme Court decisions, Uniform Commercial Code, Federal Rules, and State Codes.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Law journals, Congressional Record, U.S. Reports (1754-present), famous world trials (1700’s-present), United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, U. S. Treaties, Federal Register (1936-present), CFR (1938-present), and more.

Justia
US Code. Code of Federal Regulations, US Regulations Tracker, Individual State Codes.

In addition, it has a keyword-searchable database of tables of contents from more than 750 law reviews and other scholarly publications related to the law published in the United States and abroad.

Cornell’s Legal Information Institute
Its collection of state legal materials gathers, state by state, Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and regulations for the fifty states, plus D.C., and the U.S. territories and affiliated jurisdictions.
Self Service Legal Center
This site provides legal forms for those individuals who wish to represent themselves in civil court.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google is now including full-text legal opinions from U.S. Federal and State District, Appellate, and Supreme courts in Google Scholar.

Justia.com
It has US Supreme Court cases 1700s to present; Federal Court of Appeals opinions since 1950; US District Court opinions.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).

Cornell’s Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections).

It also holds resources and document collections of International law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Law journals, Congressional Record, U.S. Reports (1754-present), famous world trials (1700’s-present), United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, U. S. Treaties, Federal Register (1936-present), CFR (1938-present), and more.

Justia
It includes the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury tax regulations and other official guidance from the Internal Revenue Service, opinions from the US Tax Court, and links to individual state taxing and revenue agencies.

Espacenet
European Network of Patent Databases

Search for European, US, and Japanese patents.
Indianapolis Public Library
"Available only on the 4th floor at Central Library. Please ask at the reference desk. Used by patent examiners to find text and images of U.S. Patents dating back to 1790. Selected foreign patents are also available."
US Patent and Trademark Office
It has a patent full-text and image database, as well as instruction for filing for a patent. Site also has extensive information on trademarks and intellectual property law and policies.