These titles are just a few of the many titles held in the IU libraries. Search IUCAT for more.
Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary [eBook] by Yuki Shimada (Compiled by); Taeko Takeyama (Revised by)This is a completely up-to-date Japanese mini dictionary. Tuttle Mini Japanese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Japan who wish to learn Japanese prior to their trip or as a Japanese language study reference. Mini Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Japanese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Japanese dictionary and Japanese to English dictionary Mini Japanese Dictionary contains important notes on the Japanese language, Japanese grammar and Japanese pronunciation. All Japanese words are written in a Romanized form as well as Japanese script (kanji and kana) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Japanese-English and English-Japanese. Over 13,000 essential Japanese words, as well as useful Japanese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Japanese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Japanese social media and computer terms.
Call Number: World Wide Web
Publication Date: 2014
Tuttle Pocket Japanese Dictionary [eBook] by Samuel E. Martin; Revised by Sayaka Khan & Fred PerryIt's never a good idea to be overly reliant on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great Japanese dictionary. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Japan Pocket Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese. It features all the essential Japanese vocabulary appropriate for beginning to intermediate students. It's handy pocket format and user-friendly, two color layout will make any future trip to Japan much easier. All entries are written in a Romanized form as well as Japanese script (Kanji and Kana) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This dictionary includes the following key features: Over 18,000 words and expressions in the Japanese language. Japanese-English and English-Japanese sections. Fully updated with recent vocabulary and commonly used Japanese slang. Clear, user friendly layout with headwords in blue. Romanized script and Japanese script (hiragana and katakana) and characters(kanji) for every entry. Other books from this bestselling series you might enjoy include:Pocket Korean Dictionary, Pocket Vietnamese Dictionary, Pocket Mandarin Chinese Dictionary, and Pocket Cantonese Dictionary.
Call Number: World Wide Web
Publication Date: 2013
Historical Dictionary of Shinto [eBook] by Stuart D. B. PickenOne of Japan's major religions, Shinto has no doctrines and there are no sacred texts from which religious authority can be derived. It does not have an identifiable historical founder, and it has survived the vicissitudes of history through rituals and symbols rather than through continuity of doctrine. Shinto is primarily a religion of nature, centered on the cultivation of rice, the basis of a culture with which the western world is not familiar in terms of either its annual cycle or the kind of lifestyle it generates. The roots of the Shinto tradition probably precede this and reflect an awareness of the natural order. The oldest shrines came to be located in places that inspired awe and wonder in their observers, such as the great Fall of Nachi in Kumano, or in mountains that conveyed a sense of power. The expanded second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Shinto relates the history of Shinto through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 800 cross-referenced dictionary entries on Shinto concepts, significant figures, places, activities, and periods. Scholars and students will find the overviews and sources for further research provided by this book to be enormously helpful.
Kodansha's Communicative English-Japanese Dictionary by Peter Sharpe; Michael Staley (Editor); Keiko Yoshida (Editor)Containing high-frequency English words with Japanese equivalents, technical terms, new words, and vocabulary related to Japanese culture, this book presents interjections, idioms, and phrasal verbs. It includes entries on Japanese usage, and grammar appendices / key verb declensions. Furigana superscript is used to indicate kanji pronunciation. The fruit of 15 years of research, this remarkable book contains all of the words needed for daily and even sophisticated conversation, as great care has gone into the selection of the entry words and their meanings.
The links on this page are a mixture of free online (open web) resources and library subscription resources such as databases and ebooks. Please also see theArticles&CitationDatabaseslist on page 3. Find Materials.
The Routledge Course in Japanese Translation [eBook] by Yoko HasegawaThe Routledge Course in Japanese Translation brings together for the first time material dedicated to the theory and practice of translation to and from Japanese. This one semester advanced course in Japanese translation is designed to raise awareness of the many considerations that must be taken into account when translating a text. As students progress through the course they will acquire various tools to deal with the common problems typically involved in the practice of translation. Particular attention is paid to the structural differences between Japanese and English and to cross-cultural dissimilarities in stylistics. Essential theory and information on the translation process are provided as well as abundant practical tasks. The Routledge Course in Japanese Translation is essential reading for all serious students of Japanese at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.
Call Number: World Wide Web
Publication Date: 2011
Translation in Modern Japan by Indra Levy (Editor)The role of translation in the formation of modern Japanese identities has become one of the most exciting new fields of inquiry in Japanese studies. This book marks the first attempt to establish the contours of this new field, bringing together seminal works of Japanese scholarship and criticism with cutting-edge English-language scholarship. Collectively, the contributors to this book address two critical questions: 1) how does the conception of modern Japan as a culture of translation affect our understanding of Japanese modernity and its relation to the East/West divide? and 2) how does the example of a distinctly East Asian tradition of translation affect our understanding of translation itself? The chapter engage a wide array of disciplines, perspectives, and topics from politics to culture, the written language to visual culture, scientific discourse to children's literature and the Japanese conception of a national literature. Translation in Modern Japan will be of huge interest to a diverse readership in both Japanese studies and translation studies as well as students and scholars of the theory and practice of Japanese literary translation, traditional and modern Japanese history and culture, and Japanese women's studies.
Call Number: P306.8.J3 T73 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Thinking Through Translation with Metaphors by James St. André (Ed.)Thinking through Translation with Metaphors explores a wide range of metaphorical figures used to describe the translation process, from Aristotle to the present. Most practitioners and theorists of translation are familiar with a number of metaphors for translation, such as the metaphor of the bridge, following in another's footsteps, performing a musical score, changing clothes, or painting a portrait; yet relatively little attention has been paid to what these metaphorical models reveal about how we conceptualize translation. Drawing on insights from recent developments in metaphor theory, contributors to this volume reveal how central metaphorical language has been to translation studies at all periods of time and in various cultures. Metaphors have played a key role in shaping the way in which we understand translation, determining what facets of the translation process are deemed to be important and therefore merit study, and aiding in the training of successive generations of translators and theorists. While some of the papers focus mainly on past metaphorical representations, others discuss recent shifts in both metaphor and translation theory, while others still propose innovative metaphors in a bid to transform translation studies. The volume also includes an annotated bibliography of works centrally concerned with metaphors of translation.