Note: IUPUI does NOT collect any patents. However, the Indianapolis-Marion County Public Library has a collection of U.S. Patents from the early 1970's to the present. For more information, call 317-275-4100.
Search hint: Using classification searching is preferable to keyword searching a patent database.
Espacenet - "With its worldwide coverage and search features, Espacenet offers free access to information about inventions and technical developments from 1782 to today...updated daily. It contains data on more than 130 million patent documents from around the world. Supporting information can help you understand whether a patent has been granted and if it is still in force. Many patents are full-text with diagrams.
Global Patent Index (GPI) - European Patent Office (EPO) "... tool that enables you to perform detailed searches in the EPO's worldwide bibliographic, legal event and full-text data sets. GPI is updated weekly. More than 500 000 patent documents are added every month."
Free Patents Online - "...world-wide leading free patent search..." with terabytes of patent diagrams.
Google Patents - "Search and read the full text of patents from around the world. "
Nexis Uni - Search international news announcements regarding company patents, as well as legal cases, statues and legislation regarding intellectual property for selected countries.
Patent Buddy - Social networking site for those researching U.S. Patent attorneys, agents and organizations.
United States Patent and Trademark Office - The government's free, searchable database of United States patents, patent applications, and trademarks. It provides coverage of patent materials from 1790 to the present.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - Provided by a specialized agency of the United Nations. See the Resources tab to access resources such as PATENTSCOPE with access "...to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices."
"HOW TO" resources:
