3. Find Materials - Chinese | 中文 - LibGuides at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Article & Citation Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on a variety of subjects. Use this database when you don't know where else to start!
ARTstor This link opens in a new window Find photographs and images of paintings, sculptures, and other masterpieces from artists from around the world.
Asian American Drama (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Over 250 plays, biographical, production, and theatrical information, from 1891-present.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window Information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare, 1970-present.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Index of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), and full-text of performing arts journals. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window Recent and historical news content outside of the US and Canada, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, etc..
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Search the full-text of hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals including Language and Literature, Linguistics, Religion, and more. Articles are written in English and other languages.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international language literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences as far back as 1973. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly Web sites written in Western languages since 1923. Coverage includes literature from all over the world in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window International encyclopedia of music including audio examples. For best performance Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0 or Firefox 1.0 or higher are recommended.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Like JSTOR, Project Muse allows you to search the full-text of scholarly journals and ebooks focused on world languages. Articles are written in English and other languages.
ProQuest Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A large, multi-disciplinary database that includes articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals -- including those written in other languages.
South and Southeast Asian Literature (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focuses on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window Contains reference, scholarly articles, primary sources, and images, maps and charts on world history. (Access provided by the Marion County Internet Library with support from the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.)

Film-related databases:

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Offering in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to present.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Coverage of film and television from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)
Film Index International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International coverage of all areas of film studies - from the silent movies, to art house classics, to blockbusters - 1900-present.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming videos on a variety of topics. Titles can be found via IUCAT.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request. Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM. For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions
New World Cinema (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Independent Features and Shorts, 1990–present.
World History in Video (North America) (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window Documentaries to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Asian American Writers' Workshop

Finding the Full-Text of an Article

Finding the Full-Text of an Article Visual

Detailed description of, "Finding Full Text" diagram

Finding the full-text of an article from a citation

When you have found a promising source in a print bibliography or footnotes, the foolproof method for getting access to the full-text is to search for the Journal TITLE in the Electronic Journals List (search box below). Do not search for the article title, do not waste your time searching JSTOR or other databases.

Example of a Journal Citation (text in bold=title you want to search)

Fine, M. (1988) ‘Sexuality, Schooling, and Adolescent Females: The Missing Discourse of Desire’, Journal Title:Harvard Educational Review 58(1): 29–53.

If we don't have access to the full-text of the journal, Interlibrary Loan allows you to obtain journal articles at no cost to you. Delivery of most documents is done electronically via e-mail.

eBooks

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window Fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window Over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas.

HathiTrust Digital Library Includes Yale Classics Library "Collection" (in development).

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Ebooks on a variety of topics. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)

Scholarly Websites

National Taiwan University Journal Database Full-text articles of academic journals published by departments of National Taiwan University from 2002 to present.
Center for Chinese Studies Several subject databases, including Full-text Database of CCS Publications, Database of CCS Collections, Foreign Sinologists Dissertation Abstracts Database, Bibliography of Research on the Classics, and Bibliography of Tun-huang Studies etc. Both single and cross-database search interfaces available.
Socolar-Open Access Resources A collection of open access journals in various languages

Dissertations and Theses

IUPUI Scholar Works Graduate and doctoral level research conducted by IUPUI students. Browse titles from the World Languages and Cultures Department.
Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations Open Access electronic theses and dissertations.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Dissertations and theses 1743-present with full-text for most from 1997-present. SEE Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)

Chinese | 中文

Select journals from BrowZine

How to Find Articles in Library Databases

Finding a Book at University Library