The most basic way to enter a reference is by manually typing it in. Click References menu / New Reference. Remember to enter multiple author names on separate lines. Press Tab to move between fields.
You can enter author names either last name first with a comma ("Smith, Jane") or first name first ("Jane Smith").
Tip: When entering a corporate or institutional author name like "Georgia State University" or "Centers for Disease Control", enter a comma after the name. This will prevent EndNote from inverting or abbreviating the name as it would for an individual author's.
Saving Citations from Online Databases
Search the database via the web interface as you normally
would. Select the references you want, then save or
export them. Every database works a little differently,
so check here for instructions for a particular
Most databases can export to EndNote with these general steps:
Select the citations you want to save with an Add button or check box.
Look for a Save or Export button.
Choose "Save to EndNote" or "Export to your bibliographic software" or a similar option.
EndNote will usually recognize that your browser is sending citation data and open automatically to save it to your library.
Using Import Filters
Not all databases offer the direct export option. For those that don't you can use EndNote's import filters to transfer the reference data into your EndNote library. Here's how:
Save the results you wish to keep in a text file
From EndNote's File menu, choose Import
Select the text file that contains your saved results
From the Import Options menu, select Other Filters
Select the filter that corresponds to the database your results came from
Click the Import button
Adding References from Google Scholar
Visit Scholar Preferences and in the Bibliography Manager section select "Show links to export citations into" and choose EndNote from the drop-down menu. Click "Save Preferences" and you're done. Next time you search on Google Scholar, you'll see EndNote as an option.
Tip: Add Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis to your Library Links to get access to library content from home through Google Scholar.