This subject guide is to aid the students, faculty, and citizenry of IUPUI University Library in locating information to support the study and active scholarship in the fields of journalism and public relations.
The AP Stylebook Online takes the standard-setting AP Stylebook and adds online functionality. It is searchable and it’s updated live as the AP adds or changes its style listings, ensuring that you always have the most up-to-date rules and tips. You can use it from your work computer, your home computer, anyplace you have an Internet connection. As long as you are connected to the Internet, there is no need for the book version.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
This handbook is not intended as a collection of “rules”. Beyond the obvious, such as the cardinal sin of plagiarism, the dishonesty of fabrication or the immorality of bribe-taking, journalism is a profession that has to be governed by ethical guiding principles rather than by rigid rules.
This website is a fairly user-friendly statistics database administered by the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and features information for employers, job seekers, and economic developers. It offers many options for focusing on specific areas, cities, and industries.
The Indiana Business Research Center is an extensive resource for data and analysis of economic and demographic information needed by business, government and nonprofit organizations in Indiana and throughout the nation.
Many Indiana State Agencies, U.S. Government Agencies, and other organizations produce statistical files and publications, and a growing number of them place the statistics on the Internet. This guide provides direct links to many of the web statistical resources by subject. For economic and demographic data for Indiana, counties, and cities and towns, go to STATS Indiana.
This website is a one-stop source for data and information for Central Indiana communities and organizations. It provides local data about the social, economic, and physical conditions of neighborhoods, townships, and counties, and other geographic areas such as school districts. SAVI summarizes these data into community profiles and allows users to view and analyze detailed data in interactive maps, charts, and tables.
This is an information utility for the State of Indiana and receives major support from the State through the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and from the Lilly Endowment, Inc. It is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business.
U.S. Demographic data and reports from the national to local level. Useful for market analysis and segmentation. Create interactive maps, and radius based maps and reports. Current year estimates and five-year projections of key demographics. Includes access to Mosaic Segmentation.