Book Searches
IUCAT: Use IUCAT (www.iucat.iu.edu) to discover what is available from University Library’s collection of paper and electronic books. You can search University Library only or other libraries in the Indiana University library system. Logging in to IUCAT (similar to email login) will allow you to store library call numbers on your cell phone, request that materials from other IU libraries be brought to IUPUI for you to check out, and once you are logged in IUCAT will display a list of the items you currently have checked out and when they are due, with the option to renew them immediately online.
WorldCat FirstSearch: Use WorldCat FirstSearch to search for the location of books in other libraries or to discover what has been published globally in book form. Get to WorldCat FirstSearch via the University Library’s website (www.ulib.iupui.edu) by clicking on the ‘Databases’ icon and clicking on the letter W in the alphabetical display. Scroll down to WorldCat FirstSearch and click on it.
Interlibrary Loan: You can request that University Library obtain a book (as well a other types of materials) not in its collection for your use. Log on to the ILIAD interlibrary loan service (https://ill.ulib.iupui.edu/ILLiad/IUP/logon.html ) using the same userid and password you use for Canvas and email. Indicate the type of materials you wish to request (article, book, conference paper, etc.) from the left side of the screen, then fill in all fields marked with a red asterisk. Submit your request. University Library will discover where your requested item is held and will ask for it. Articles are generally sent to your email as .pdf files, often on the same day. Items such as print materials, CDs, or DVDs must be shipped and will take longer to arrive.
Article Searches
Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a subset of the Google search engine dedicated to discovering items published by academic authors. Results may include books articles, conference proceedings, or even PowerPoint or Prezi presentations. Useful Google Scholar features include ‘Cited By’, which indicates other authors who have cited the work you have discovered, and ‘Related Articles’, which uses Google algorithms to find other items related to the subject of the item you have discovered.
It is highly recommended that you go through the library’s homepage to get to Google Scholar. One on the homepage (www.ulib.iupui.edu ) click on the ‘Databases’ icon, then the letter G, and scroll down to Google Scholar. Accessing Google Scholar in this way allow Google to recognize you as a member of the IUPUI campus community, and Google will alert you, with information on the right-hand side of the screen, which items you can received with paying for them because they are already in the library’s collection of owned or licensed materials.
Statistical Resources
A range of statistical resources are available from the library’s “Facts and Figures” research guide, found at https://iupui.libguides.com/factsandfigures . Similarly, data repositories and other sources of data are available from the library's "Finding Data and Statistics" research guide, found at https://iupui.libguides.com/finddata/repositories.
These resources include access to data repositories, such as the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan, governmental resources, such as ChildStats.gov and Data.gov, international resources such as the United National Statistical Commission and World Health Organization Data and Statistics, and data compiled by nonprofit organizations such as those at KIDS COUNT Data Center, published by the Annie E. Casey Children’s Foundation.
Theses and Dissertations
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database offers access to millions of theses and dissertations from around the world. Full-text coverage goes back to publications from 1743. Access this database from the library’s ‘Databases’ icon, then the letter ‘P’.
Digital versions of theses and dissertations done on the IUPUI campus can be found in the library's digital repository, IUPUI ScholarWorks (scholarworks.iupui.edu). ScholarWorks is arranged in 'communities' and works can be searched within a community or by conducting a keyword search. Materials can also be found by author, subject, or time period. ScholarWorks makes the work of IUPUI faculty and graduate students globally available immediately.
Citation Managers
EndNote is freely available to the IUPUI campus community through the IUware website (https://iuware.iu.edu ) Windows and Mac versions are available. The current version for both is X20. EndNote provides a mechanism for gathering, storing, and using bibliographic citations needed for academic work. EndNote provides video tutorials for both versions on its YouTube channel. The library provides a LibGuide for further information and assistance at https://iupui.libguides.com/endnote .
Zotero is a Firefox browser that functions as a citation manager. Zotero can be downloaded after creating a free account at zotero.org. A LibGuide for Zotero is available at https://iupui.libguides.com/zotero .
