LibGuides: Criminal Justice Research Guide: Find Articles and Journals

Google Scholar

Databases for Criminal Justice Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-disciplinary database.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Articles in law review journals.
NCJRS Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for articles, reports and other documents collected by U.S. federal agencies relevant to criminal justice issues.
PAIS Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from psychology and disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Journals for public health and medicine.
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database of articles--includes citation references.
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database of journal articles. A useful tool for cited-reference searching.

Find Gray Literature & Reports

Gray literature is a term applied to sources of information that are not commercially published and is typically composed of technical reports, working papers, government and agency reports, and conference proceedings.

Congressional Research Service Reports (UNT Digital Library)
CRS is the public policy research arm of Congress. This collection includes over 900 reports relevant to criminal justice.
Criminal Justice Gray Literature Database
Maintained by Rutgers School of Law Library.

CRS Reports - Thurgood Marshall Law Library This link opens in a new window
The Thurgood Marshall Law Library has created an online collection in the subject areas of Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy.
Digital National Security Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Government documents, reports and topical guides relevant to homeland security.

National Institute of Corrections Library
18,000 corrections-related resources including training plans, research reports, program evaluations and more. Browse by topic.
OSCE-POLIS
Border security and management, counter-terrorism, cyber/ICT security and policing. Browse by region or subject.

Proquest Congressional (Index 1789-present) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes: Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications (Full Text) (1830-present)Serial Set (Full Text) (1789-present)House & Senate Reports (1817-present)House & Senate Documents (1817-present)Hearings (Full Text) (1824-present)Prints (Full Text) (1824-present)Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (Full Text) (1916-present)

Race and Justice Clearinghouse
The Race and Justice Clearinghouse is a resource for information, analysis, and commentary on race and ethnicity as they interact with the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems.

Dissertations and Theses

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.6 million theses and dissertations.
Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (ProQuest)
ProQuest/UMI's database of dissertations from the 13 universities in the CIC Consortium (the 11 members of the Big Ten athletic conference plus the University of Chicago and the University of Illinois at Chicago). A subset of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database with full-text of all CIC/Big Ten dissertations (including all University of Michigan dissertations) filed since 1997. Describes nearly all dissertations and selected master theses filed at CIC/Big Ten universities. Includes abstracts written by the authors for all dissertations from 1980 to the present.
Dissertations & Theses: Abstract & Index (ProQuest)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The abstract and index version of PQDT includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. You can request items through Interlibrary Loan using the 'Find It' icon.

IUPUI ScholarWorks This link opens in a new window
IUPUI ScholarWorks is the institutional repository established to collect and disseminate IUPUI's scholarly output. Many scholars use it to post dissertations and theses.

	Find Us: https://iupui.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUPUILibrary
	Like Us: IUPUI Library
	Follow Us: IUPUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian