E-Books: Finding and Using Electronic Books: Finding E-Books
How to search
There are a number of different places to find and access e-books. You can search for e-books through any of the links below. Enter the search words in the search box to find the desired e-book.
Search for E-Books in the Library Catalog
- IUCAT: Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowRecords for items (books, multimedia, etc.) held by IU Libraries statewide. Get items from other IU libraries via "Request This."
IUCAT does not contain e-books themselves or other content. It contains links to e-books and other resources in addition to call numbers for print books. If you don't know what e-book collection (EBSCOhost, ProQuest. etc.) you're looking for, IUCAT is a great place to start your search!
Occasionally there will be an e-book or streaming video with a normal looking record in IUCAT, but when the link is followed, a "0 results" screen appears like the one below. This happens when the library loses access to a title we previously had, but the record in IUCAT has not been updated yet.
E-Book Collections - General
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowThis database contains ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. Formerly ebrary. Includes library subscription to Academic Complete.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEbooks on a variety of topics. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
The two resources above all contain full-text e-books. If you open the e-book in the resource, you can read the e-book online and/or download it.
More specialized e-book collections
- ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks on a variety of history and other humanities topics.
- Literature and Language (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowContains 43 collections, including: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, South and Southeast Asian Literature.
- Skillport 8i This link opens in a new windowInformation Technology and Business, including manuals for software such as Microsoft Office. We have access to: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel. Note: Students must be currently enrolled in order to access
- Springer Link E-books This link opens in a new windowAccess to titles in the subject areas of science, technology, mathematics, medicine and nursing. Note: The library does not have access to all content.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowWiley publications. Note: The library does not have access to all content.
The e-book collections listed above are more specialized. Not all of them can be downloaded, but instead need to be read online.