Engineering & Technology
Finding Scholarly Articles on Engineering & Technology Topics
The databases and journals listed below are good starting points for research in a broad range of engineering and technology topics. if you would like help with searching a specific database or journal, or help with databases in general, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowRegularly updated engineering reference information. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAccess to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) articles, including magazine, journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. Access is also provided to the Computing Reviews and Guide to Computing Literature.
- American Society of Civil Engineers Library This link opens in a new windowArticles published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. The library’s subscription does not include access to ASCE Conference Proceedings.
- Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowTrade and professional journals, buyers' guides, directories, conference proceedings, etc from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
- BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new windowContains all content from Environmental Building News, 1992-present as well as the complete directory of green building products listed in GreenSpec®.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAbstracts from the world's significant engineering and technological literature. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
- MAD CAD Building Codes eLibrary This link opens in a new windowCollection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA; and state and local codes.
- SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new windowTechnical papers, standards, books, periodicals, etc. in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. A database in Web of Science. Coverage 1987-present.
- Scitation This link opens in a new windowJournal articles relevant to engineering, biophysics, chemical biology, bioinformatics, and computing.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new windowScience, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
Journals Carried by IUPUC
Reading Engineering Papers
- How to Read an Engineering Research PaperEssential information for all engineering and technology students
- How to Read and Summarize Technical Papers and Journal ArticlesHow to read and write more efficiently