Skip to main content

In-person Library services have been altered to limit COVID-19 spread. Read our Opening Guide for more information.

Library Resources to Help You Teach Online

Welcome

With the move to 100% online teaching, you may find it necessary to link to library electronic resources like articles and ebooks in your Canvas course site. Here's how you find and link to those resources.

Find E-Books in IUCAT

There is no one-step way to search only for e-books in the library catalog IUCAT. But these tips will make it easier. 

1. To search only for items at IUPUI, click the "Campus" link in the left-side menu and select the "Indianapolis" link. 

2. To limit to books, click on the "Format" link in the left-side menu and then select "Book."


3. Books available electronically will have the "Online Resource" icon. Click on the item's title to see the full record and to see if a link to the item is available through the IUPUI campus. 

IUCAT search results page limit by campus and format

 

If a specific book you need is not available through the IU Libraries, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Linking to Articles in Canvas

(Arrow Pointing Up) Explore more about stable links When you search a library database, the URL in the browser window is usually NOT a persistent or stable URL (also known as PURLs (persistent universal resources locators)). That means, if you try to use the URL again at a later date to access the article, it won’t work. You need to make sure you use the persistent URL when linking to articles in library databases.

To find persistent URLs in library databases, click on the title of the article in which you are interested. The persistent URL will be called different names and appear in different locations depending on the database.

The tabs above give just a few examples, each database works a little differently.

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is not a persistent URL, but it does operate kind-of like one. The DOI for an object will never change, even though the URL where the object is located might change. The DOI ensures that you'll always be able to locate the item.

10.1234/456-mydoc-456584893489 is an example of the DOI format. It always begins ‘10’ indicating this is a DOI name; the second part of the prefix is typically four digits, and is allocated to the DOI assigner. The suffix is created by the assigner, and can be any length and incorporate other numbering schemes.

A DOI can be assigned to any Object. For example: a scholarly journal article; a scholarly journal; a DVD or an item of equipment, etc.

Place ‘https://doi.org/’ in front of any doi number in order to locate the item (or use the link below).

All U.S. government documents have persistent URLs. You can search for government documents via the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. The PURL will have this root URL: http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/_______

In EBSCO databases, once you click on the title of document, in the right-hand column list of options, you’ll see “Permalink.” Click it for the persistent URL.

EBSCOHost Permalink Example

In ProQuest databases, after clicking the title, click the “Abstract/Details” tab and scroll towards the bottom of the page. There you’ll find the “Document URL.”

ProQuest Persistent URL Example

In JSTOR, after clicking the title, just above the article text is some bibliographic information. The stable URL is listed in that information.

JSTOR Stable URL Example

In NexisUni, after clicking the title, to the far right of the title there is an "Actions" link with a dropdown. Click "Actions" for a "Link to this Page."

Screenshot of "Link to this Page" for NexisUni