LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering & Biomedical Engineering Technology: Welcome

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

rahalver@iupui.edu; UL 3120A

I am happy to reply to questions and suggestions by email or Canvas messages to support your classwork or research. Or, use the "Consultations" link in the "Help Options" box to see available times and request a Zoom or MS Teams appointment. Sending details about your topic is very helpful.

If my listed times don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Technology, Science

Contact Us

	Find Us: https://iupui.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUPUILibrary
	Like Us: IUPUI Library
	Follow Us: IUPUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian

Need help?

Use one of the tabs above or upper left to find specific information in the field of Biomedical Engineering & Biomedical Engineering Technology.

QUICK Library Research Help. The University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:

By phone : 317-274-0469 or 317-274-0472
By chat Monday - Friday 9 - 5 at left side of page: Research Help
By e-mail: refdesk@iupui.edu
By text: (66746)
In-person at the 2nd level lobby Information/Reference desk

FOR MORE HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Canvas message suggestions or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rahalver@iupui.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For the best results, please include your course in the subject line, and background details, especially,

details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.

To request a RESERVATION to meet by Zoom or MS Teams, please use the library's "Consultation" appointment page, selecting my name from the list. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

To browse resources for a different E&T field, access the Engineering & Technology link at the subject research guides browse page to see 7 more E&T subject options.

How Do I?/FAQs

How-To Guides: To help you become a better researcher
Browse guides and tutorials to plan a literature review, evaluate sources, narrow your topic, improve your search terms and get more relevant results, use software to organize references and writing projects, etc.
On Demand Services: Request that the library purchase a book, ebook, etc.

Resource Highlights

Jove Science Education: Bioengineering
Find overviews and more in-depth resources for bioengineering topics. An article and video library "...dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations."

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Browse large collection of handbooks and references. Browse by Subject Bioengineering shows over 10, 000 hits. At the main search box, enter keyword searches or enter general terms such as biomaterials or tissue to see additional, more specialized hot-llnked terms. Regularly updated. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Searches for terms such as biomechanic*, engineer*, etc. limited to the most recent five years can return about 1000 hits. Includes full text, references, updates, and graphics. Can run a search in one text, selected texts, or all texts. Color diagrams, charts, and other textbook illustrations are available as thumbnails or full-sized graphics.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Major Resource to find articles. Search across multiple publisher sources and engineering disciplines. FindIt icons for citations provide expanded options for direct linking to full-text or to request free copies of articles. Browsing the Index: Controlled Vocabulary for specialized subject terms can improve your search results. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.

Want to search and access articles from ASME journals and conferences? Go to subject guide page Find articles: Databases
Access general, multidisciplinary databases such as Proquest Central. Access full-text articles for some professional society digital libraries such as ASME by accessing that resource directly. Full-text articles for professional societies ASME, ASCE, and SAE may be listed but without FindIt links to full-text at resources such as Engineering Village, Scopus, or Google Scholar.
Search and access articles for individual journals: Alternative option to using sources such as IEEE, Scopus, or EMBASE
Move the library homepage search selection to option Journals and enter a single keyword such as bioengineering. OR, go directly to the E-Journal browse site linked here, change the options setting to "Title contains all words". Entering keyword bioengineering, for example, produces links to access content through the present for about 20 campus and open access journals, including JoVE Bioengineering.
CORE: Search hundreds of Open Access Repositories
"The world’s largest collection of open access research papers." Search for freely available journal articles and other resources at open access repositories, including IUPUI ScholarWorks.
OSF Preprints
Search entire resource or subject collections using expressions such as prosthe*, biofuels, nano*, etc. Searches engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other preprint resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest).

BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, etc. Coverage 1969-present.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual volumes provide cutting-edge research review articles especially for the biomedical and life sciences. Among others, content through the most recent year is available for Biomedical Engineering and Biophysics.

Numerous library "How to..." resources

End-of-Class Evaluation

Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IUPUI login).

Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!

End of Class Evaluation

End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code