The Library creates and provides access to content that enhances IUPUI's institutional strengths and supports its teaching, learning, and research missions.
Criteria: % increase or decrease in renewed resources for fiscal year.
Evidence: Cost data from Workflows, Collection Scorecard (historical data)
Responsible Unit/Area: Collections Working Group
Assessment Year: 2020-21
FY 2021 Results: Total Percentage Change for University Library for Renewed Resources: 0%
Total Percentage Change for Campus Subscriptions for which we are paying all or partial amount: 0.2%
Percentage change Title Pricing for University and College libraries in 2021 Library Journal Price Survey was 4.2%. It is forecasted to be 4.0% in 2022.
Discussion: This is a measure of the percentage change of journals and e-resources that have been renewed. At 0% for University Library paid for subscriptions and 0.2% for campus subscriptions paid by multiple libraries, we fell significantly below the average price increase as published in library journal for the given year which was 4.2%, a decrease from the previous trend of many years of falling between 5 to 6 percent, due to budget cuts the result of the Covid-19 pandemic. Through effective management of pricing and negotiating with vendors we were able to keep prices flat in aggregate for subscription e-resources.
Key Message: University Library is working as responsible financial stewards regarding collection budget management, pushing to keep price increases of renewed resources minimal and well below the average for most Universities and Colleges which had an average of 4.2% increase. In fiscal year 2021 e-resource subscription prices remained flat compared.
Criteria: Spec Coll increases number of collections (or scope/size of existing collections through accruals) by acquiring new collections within 3 active collecting areas (Philanthropy, National Service, University), increasing reputation of university as a research institution.
Evidence: Accession Records (in ArchivesSpace)
Responsible Unit/Area: Special Collections
Assessment Year: 2020-21
FY 2021 Results: 202 new items, creating a new collection, Urban Displacement and the Making of a University, it averages between 78 views a month. Major collection IUPUI Image collection added 15,121 items, approximately doubling the collection.
Discussion: The new collection, Urban Displacement and the Making of a University averages around 78 views/month. Use stats for the all digital special collection went from an average of 1733 hits a month to 2577 hits a month.
Key Message: Although the COVID-19 pandemic curtailed physical use of the library, digital collections show increased use and indicate that patrons are finding collections that meet their learning and research needs.