LibGuides: Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology: Help; Video & resource highlights & more

Help Options

Use one of the tabs above or upper left to find specific information in the field of Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology.

QUICK Library Research Help. The University Library provides assistance in many ways during library hours, especially during academic sessions:

By phone : 317-274-0469 or 317-274-0472
By chat Monday - Friday 9 - 5 at left side of page: Research Help
By e-mail: refdesk@iupui.edu
By text: (66746)
In-person at the 2nd level lobby Information/Reference desk

FOR MORE HELP, contact resource/research specialist Randall Halverson. I'm happy to support your classwork or research via email or Canvas message suggestions or by appointment. Email is an effective medium to send questions: rahalver@iupui.edu or rahalver@iu.edu. For the best results, please include your course in the subject line, and background details, especially,

details about your project topic, such as your personal or professional interest in the topic,
whether you want to focus your topic and explore possible research directions, or search for "big picture" overview sources or in-depth specialized sources, etc.,
search resources and strategies that you've already tried.

To request a RESERVATION to meet by Zoom or MS Teams, please use the library's "Make an Appointment" page, selecting my name from the list of subject librarians. If my time options shown on the calendar don't work for you, you are welcome to send 2 or 3 days/times you could meet by email. I'll respond. :~)

To browse resources for a different E&T field, access the Engineering & Technology link at the subject research guides browse page to see 7 more E&T subject options.

Video, Resource Highlights

How-To Guides: To help you become a better researcher
Browse guides and tutorials to plan a literature review, evaluate sources, narrow your topic, improve your search terms and get more relevant results, use software to organize references and writing projects, etc.
On Demand Services to request that the library purchase a book, ebook, streaming video. etc.
To explore possible items, search Amazon or IUCAT iucat.iu.edu for numerous recent items. After an IUCAT All fields or subject search for a term such as construction management, it can be helpful to change the "Sort by..." selection to Year (new to old). To see many Indianapolis-specific "Books on Demand" or ebooks available to the campus, at lower left limit, change the Campus option to Indianapolis. The subject librarian can also help identify ebook purchase options on a needed topic for a class or remote use, and ensure that the library obtains sufficient concurrent use "copies".

American Society of Civil Engineers Library This link opens in a new window
Access journal articles on topics including smart buildings, energy efficiency, infrastructure, engineering practice, management, and much more. Request a free copy of a conference (proceedings) paper using the library's ILLiad (interlibrary loan) system.

97 Things Every Engineering Manager Should Know: Collective Wisdom from the Experts
2019.
ebooks on Crisis Management
For example, see 2019 ebook with unlimited ebook copies via Skillsoft: What to do when things go wrong: A five-step guide to planning for and surviving the inevitable: And coming out ahead. For another IUCAT search option, use subject search: Communication in crisis management.
ebooks on Resilence Management
This search result is Limited to Campus = Indianapolis, to show hardcopy books at IUPUI libraries, ebooks available to IUPUI, etc. Many hardcopy IU library books at other IU campuses can be requested using the Request This feature. To include these, avoid using the Limit by Campus feature.
OSF Preprints
Search entire resource or subject collections using expressions such as smart buildings, resilien*, etc. Searches engrXiv, arXiv, and numerous other preprint resources. See option at upper right to Sort results by Modified Date (newest to oldest).

Human Resource Management Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Books, cases, training videos, etc. mapped to human resource management.
Skillport 8i This link opens in a new window
Information Technology and Business, including manuals for software such as Microsoft Office. We have access to: BusinessPro, ITPro, IT and Desktop Videos, and Leadership Channel. Note: Students must be currently enrolled in order to access
Kanopy Video Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
The library provides access to two Kanopy collections: Criterion Collection and the Media Education Foundation Collection. Other titles are available on the Kanopy platform via faculty/instructor request.
- Instructors can request a title by using our PURCHASE REQUEST FORM.
- For a list of licensed titles and expiration dates, click here: LIST OF TITLES
If you are trying to embed a Kanopy video into your Canvas course, look HERE for instructions
Academic Video Online : Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive video subscription, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
For more description and tutorials, see https://iupui.libguides.com/avon

PLEASE NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions, Sony Pictures Classics films can only be viewed from within the United States. If you are trying to access such a film while physically outside the US, your film will be blocked.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Handbooks in Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion explaining key issues and debates on those issues.
NOTE: Patrons do not have access to all modules/subjects. After submitting a search, you may use the options in the left column of the results screen to narrow your choices by availability to "unlocked" and "free"
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated engineering reference information. Includes instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Unlimited direct access to New York Times website, with excellent current and archival "overview" articles with graphics. See instructions to obtain a personal password using this link. Then, see nytimes.com sections or subsections, linked at upper left icon (3 horizontal bars) or bottom of homepage. Useful subsections include "Art & Design" accessible via main section Arts; and "Energy and Environment" using link Energy at Tech, for robust coverage including experimental projects to improve the sustainability and resilience of buildings and other infrastructure. Obtain full access to nytimes.com via a web browser and smart phone and tablet apps. You must register for access, and renew every 12 months.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 (previously LexisNexis Academic).

Find background information, browse sustainable development topics

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly and popular articles, government documents and reports on the ways humans affect the environment. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana’s Virtual Library)

Projects that matter
Browse "...real world projects for sustainable development"

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes browse issues pull down topic category: Energy & Environmentalism

Find Tech News, Interviewing
Includes professional society career and tech newsletter options, ebooks on interviewing for tech management and IT positions.

Anytime from anywhere access

You can access almost all of the library's electronic resources (databases) from home or other location as an IUPUI student, or staff or faculty member. Library resources are "IP-filtered". Access typically requires

using the campus computer network, such as the campus wireless system, or
by using a library site link to the resource (from off-campus, brings up an IU login popup window to authenticate), or
by running an IUPUI VPN connection as described at "Off-Campus Access to Resources (EZ Proxy)", or
connecting via IUanyWare.

With Covid-related network changes, VPN does not always work for certain resources. In that case, use a library site resource link or install our new EZProxy Bookmarklet.

Note that for Skillsoft IT- and Business-related ebooks, using a library site link is required on or off the campus network.

Obtain full-text article or other item

FAQ to set up Google Scholar for off-campus use.
Search for scholarly documents across the web, seeing Find It @ IUPUI links to campus full-text.
Summary and Graphic: LINK to FT or EASILY REQUEST a FREE copy of article from library database search
May be the easiest option to obtain a FULL-TEXT copy of an article. Link to or request an article from the library (quick & free) via a library database. Click the article's "FindIt" link or icon, and if shown, use an "Article" or "Journal" link near the top of FindIt options popup window. Otherwise, scroll down to heading Interlibrary Loan. Click link University Library to send the article details directly to a request form.
You'll need to log in to the ILLiad login popup window. Give your contact details the first time you use ILLiad; after that, requesting an article is fast & easy.
Open ILL and ILLiad: Request (FREE) many items not available to IUPUI
If you need an article, try our new Open ILL form which determines if the article is available in our collection or through open access. If not, or if we have it in print only, employ any data populated by Open ILL to continue. If Open ILL doesn't work, or you need another kind of resource such as a book, scroll down to "Log into Interlibrary Loan" (the full ILLiad resource).

End-of-Class Evaluation

Please complete the library session evaluation linked below (requires IUPUI login).

Your participation is greatly appreciated and will help us improve our instruction!

End of Class Evaluation

End-of-Class Evaluation QR Code

	Find Us: https://iupui.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUPUILibrary
	Like Us: IUPUI Library
	Follow Us: IUPUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian

Architectural, Interior Design & Construction Engineering Management Technology

Subject Librarian

Contact Us