Quality and Innovation in Health Care-Journals that Publish Student Work

All The BMJ’s original research is published in full on bmj.com, with open access and no limits on word counts. The BMJ’s mission is to lead the debate on health and to engage, inform, and stimulate doctors, researchers, and other health professionals in ways that will improve outcomes for patients.

BMJ Quality & Safety (previously Quality & Safety in Health Care) is an international peer-reviewed publication providing research, opinions, debates, and reviews for academics, clinicians, and health care managers focused on the quality and safety of health care and the science of improvement.

The library does not have a subscription to this journal. However, each issue contains some articles that provide free or open access to full-text. For articles that aren’t free or open access, please use our Content Delivery Service to obtain the full-text. Health Affairs explores health policy issues in the US and around the world, addressing such issues as cost, quality, and access.

JAMA Internal Medicine (formerly the Archives of Internal Medicine) is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes innovative and clinically relevant research for practitioners of internal medicine and subspecialties. It seeks to publish articles that educate and inform readers and lead to positive change in health care systems and the way providers deliver patient care.

The Joint Commission Journal seeks original manuscripts on the development, adaptation, and implementation of innovative concepts, strategies, methodologies, and practices in quality and patient safety. The peer-reviewed journal is known for reporting on implementation in sufficient detail to enable readers to adapt the improvement work to their own organizations.

JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal published 48 times per year in print and several times a week online. JAMA is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world. The online version is freely available to institutions in developing countries.

The Lancet is an independent and authoritative voice in global medicine that publishes high-quality clinical trials that will alter medical practice. It covers research and analysis from all regions of the world.

The New England Journal of Medicine is dedicated to bringing physicians the best research and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice, and to presenting the information in an understandable and clinically useful format.

The American Journal of Medical Quality is the official Journal of the American College of Medical Quality. The journal publishes original work in the entire field of quality measurement and improvement.

BMJ Open Quality is an online workspace that supports individuals and teams to work through quality improvement ideas, make an intervention, and publish their results while developing their knowledge and skills. Projects are published in BMJ Quality Improvement Reports journal and, as of January 2015, over 85% of submissions are accepted.

Health Care: The Journal of Delivery Science and Innovation is a quarterly journal invested in promoting cutting edge research on innovation in health care delivery, including improvements in systems, processes, management, and applied information technology.

Implementation Science is an open access, peer-reviewed online journal that aims to publish research relevant to the scientific study of methods to promote the uptake of research findings into routine healthcare in clinical, organizational or policy contexts.

The International Journal for Quality in Health Care (IJQHC) is a leading international peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing research, policy, and implementation related to the quality of health care and health outcomes for populations and patients worldwide.

The Journal for Healthcare Quality (JHQ) welcomes submissions by writers from all sectors in the field of health care quality. The journal publishes articles on a broad range of topics including administration and management, performance measurement and improvement, and global and international issues.

Journal of Clinical and Translational Science (JCTS) publishes articles on research that spans the translational continuum, as well as education research. Topics of interest include investigations into how to best develop processes and people that translate discoveries into improved health.

This journal requires free registration to access articles. The Journal of Clinical Outcomes Management® (JCOM®) is an independent, peer-reviewed journal offering evidence-based, practical information for improving health care quality.

The Journal of Graduate Medical Education (JGME) disseminates scholarship and promotes critical inquiry to inform and engage the graduate medical education community to improve the quality of graduate medical education.

The Journal of Healthcare Risk Management publishes research, trends, and new developments in the field of healthcare risk management with the ultimate goal of advancing safe and trusted patient-centered healthcare delivery and promoting proactive and innovative management of organization-wide risk.

PLOS ONE is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication. PLOS ONE welcomes reports on primary research from any scientific discipline.

This online and print magazine reaches a readership of about 20,000 people, and has published Open School student work on several occasions. Please note PSQH is not a peer-reviewed journal.

Pulse isn’t a student-run journal, but it publishes work from all people involved in giving and receiving health care. It seeks high-quality original nonfiction, first-person stories, poetry, artwork, and photographs by patients and providers who want to share their experiences of health care.

Quality Management in Health Care (QMHC) is a peer-reviewed journal that provides a forum for readers to explore the theoretical, technical, and strategic elements of health care quality management. The journal's primary focus is on organizational structure and processes as these affect the quality of care and patient outcomes.

Individual registration is required. Medical students created The American Medical Student Research Journal to help future physician-scientists develop critical thinking skills to succeed in academia and clinical practice. Articles must have a medical student as the primary author and meet the journal’s standards of excellence in research.

The EJBM is a student-run, double-blind faculty-peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary biomedical journal that has been in publication since 1982.The journal’s mission is to provide a forum for students, researchers, clinicians, and policy makers to publish scholarly works without levying fees for publication nor for access.

The Harvard Medical Student Review (HMSR) is student-founded, student-managed, and student-administered, under the guidance of faculty and staff. Its mission is to provide a platform for students to contribute to important issues facing health and medicine through a variety of formats, including scholarly articles, editorials, and original artwork.

The mission of the Harvard Public Health Review (HPHR) is to improve health at the local, national, and international levels. To that end, HPHR publishes content grounded in thoughtful evaluation of evidence and research that addresses issues of health equity.

The International Journal of Medical Students (IJMS) is a peer-reviewed, open-access scientific journal, created to share the research and experiences of medical students worldwide.

Student BMJ is a monthly international medical journal for students with an interest in medicine. Launched in 1992, the journal publishes articles that have been specially commissioned with medical students in mind. It also features carefully selected articles from the BMJ.

The Student Doctor Network is an online publication that publishes topical, interesting, and relevant articles with information that readers can’t get anywhere else. The site includes comprehensive coverage of health issues from authors representing a variety of medical professions, including dental, psychiatry, and rehab sciences.