Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources for Online Learning


Affordable Learning Solutions @ IUPUI 

Do you know of an instructor at IUPUI that created or uses an open educational resource in the classroom?  

If so, please nominate them for the annual 2021 IUPUI Open Education Award: 

IUPUI University Library holds Second Annual Open Education Awards

INDIANAPOLIS— Spring 2020, faculty and staff gathered in IUPUI University Library for the second Annual Open Education Awards event.  This event was created to recognize the work of IUPUI faculty members who have been committed to integrating Open Educational Resources (OERs) into their coursework.   

While all the nominations were excellent, Dr. Brian Dixon was named this year’s winner.  

 Dr. Dixon currently uses OER in two online classes. Throughout these courses, he leverages OERs to make the course more affordable, to eliminate prerequisites, and to teach future healthcare professionals the importance of open science in the field of health informatics. The course teaches with open data sets—teaching students how they can be utilized by public health organizations. Additionally, he uses another OER with the open-source language python to teach students how to query clinical data and to avoid the need for perquisites, Dr. Dixon has students review an OER, so that no matter their background, they have a level playing field. Congratulations to Dr. Dixon!

You might ask, “What are OERs?” According to the Hewlett Foundation, OERs are teaching, learning and research resources that reside in the public domain or have licenses that permit their free use and re-purposing by others.  Resources include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge.  

 This year's nominations included: 

Brian Dixon – School of Public Health, Epidemiology

Elizabeth Thill – School of Liberal Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Jason Kelly – School of Liberal Arts, History

Joshua Jones – School of Law

Leslie Ashburn-Nardo – School of Science, Psychology

Lixin Wang – School of Science, Earth Sciences

Sarah Layden – School of Liberal Arts, English

Shenan Kroupa – School of Science, Psychology Tina Chen – School of Science, Psychology