LibGuides: Music Therapy: Home

Your Librarian

Anna Liss Jacobsen

(she/her)

Email Me

Contact:

IUPUI University Library
UL 2140C
755 W. Michigan St.
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317.278.3525

Subjects: Medical Humanities, Music Therapy, Nursing, Physician Assistant Program

Contact Us

	Find Us: https://iupui.libguides.com/librarians
	Call Us: 317-274-0469
	Text Us: 317-279-6630
	Email Us: Service & Information Desk
	Follow Us: @IUPUILibrary
	Like Us: IUPUI Library
	Follow Us: IUPUILibrary
	IM Us: Ask a Librarian

Welcome!

Hi there! My name is Anna Liss Jacobsen (she/her) and I'm the Music Therapy librarian at IUPUI. I'm happy to help you with your research and class needs. Please don't hesitate to email me with questions about finding/accessing/managing/using resources or to schedule a research consultation (in profile box on left).

Primary Databases

Go-to resources

PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Premier database to access scholarly psychology and related discipline resources
Music Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Go-to music database to access articles and more
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Large transdisciplinary database with over 35 million resources on biomedicine and related disciplines
Not all search results in PubMed will lead you to the full text of an article (PDF or html) or publication to which we subscribe or have access. After searching, click the red "Find It" button to the right on your search results screen to search for that article against our library's holdings. If you do not see a red "Find It" button, add the following to the end of the URL you are viewing:
/?otool=iusomlib
If that does not work, contact tech support.

Relevant Databases

Music Technology resources

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Large transdisciplinary database with focus on STEM, health, social sciences and further resources
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from the world's significant engineering and technological literature. Need to export searches? Click "more..."
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Quality database providing access STEM, social sciences and further resources
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Department of Education sponsored comprehensive database of education literature. (Access provided by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)

Further Music resources

Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular music journals, 1874-present.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music

Further medical / health resources

EMBASE (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Large biomedical database with over 32 million citations. Stronger focus on international resources
Elsevier requires that you have an account in order to export from this database. If you do not have an account, you can create a free Elsevier account by going to https://www.mendeley.com and clicking on “Create Account.” Once you have created this account, it will work for other Elsevier products as well.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Premier Nursing and allied health sciences database

General resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and trade articles from 1975-present in all fields. (Partially paid for by INSPIRE: Indiana's Virtual Library.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, full-text scholarly articles, books, and primary sources. Coverage back to the first issue of journals; embargo on some current content. Library subscribes to the following archival databases: All Arts & Sciences (I-IV); Ecology and Botany I; Health & General Sciences; and Life Sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly documents across the web, with Find It @ IUPUI links. See our FAQ for setting up Google Scholar for off-campus use.

Research Methods Guide

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Database provides research tools, books, and journals to help users learn research methods including how to plan and conduct a research project. This resource provides access to Little Green Books (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences - QASS) and Little Blue Books (Qualitative Research Methods). Topics include but are not limited to: statistical analysis, qualitative methods, text mining, data management, data visualization, and programming skills (python, R).