Skip to main content

The IUPUI University Library building will be closed until further notice. Library services will continue virtually.

Find up-to-date information on new and ongoing virtual library services.

I-CORE Research Guide

Citing with Chicago Manual of Style at Kelley

Why do we cite?

There are many reasons why it is so important to cite the sources you use in your research.

  • You demonstrate to your reader you've done proper research by listing sources you used to get your information.
  • You avoid plagiarism by quoting the words and ideas of other scholars.
  • You are being a responsible scholar by giving credit to other researchers and acknowledging their ideas.
  • You allow your reader to find the sources you used by citing them accurately in your paper by using in-text citations or footnotes in combination with a bibliography or works cited list.

What needs to be cited?

  • Direct quotes.
  • Paraphrased ideas that you found in a source (book, articles, blogs, etc.)
  • Not commonly known facts.
  • Data that you are using that came from doing research on your project.

Every time you refer to a resource in the text you must provide an in-text citation or a footnote/endnote depending on your citation style.

If you use an article more than once there should be multiple citations in the text.

Use Chicago for I-CORE Deliverables!

For your I-CORE project use the Chicago Manual of Style for creating your references. This style allows users to use endnotes for their references, as opposed to other styles you may be more familiar with (MLA, APA).

Sample Endnote Notation:

Big data will be increasingly important as we work to solve complex problems such as curing cancer.2

Sample Endnotes Entry:

Endnotes

1.  Keith Carter, “Big Data: What’s the Big Deal?”  National University of Singapore Business School: Think Business, June 03,
     2013, Accessed October 12, 2015. http://thinkbusiness.nus.sg/articles/item/135-big-data-whats-the-big-deal?

2. Tom Coburn, "A Cancer ‘Moonshot’ Needs Big Data." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, January 15, 2016, Accessed
    January 29, 2016, A13, Business Source Complete, EBSCOhost.

How to Cite in Presentations - Endnotes

Quick Reference for Endnote Citations using Chicago

Source Type

Examples

Book

Page number refers to page referenced. Always provide.
  1. Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of  publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

E-Book*

Indicate the edition you are reading (e.g. Kindle Edition, PDF e-book, etc.). If page numbers are not available you may use another indicator such as chapter, section, etc. Be as specific as you can and still be recognizable.
  1. Rebecca Lemon, Emma Mason, Johnathan Roberts, and Christopher Rowland, ed. The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, (West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009), 20, PDF e-book.

OR

  1. Rebecca Lemon, Emma Mason, Johnathan Roberts, and Christopher Rowland, ed. The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature, (West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell, 2009), Chapter 2, Kindle Edition.
Journal Article
  1. Mark Frydenberg, “Introducing Big Data Concepts in an Introductory Technology Course,” Information Systems Education Journal 13, no. 5 (September 1, 2015): 12.
Journal Article from Database
  1. Regina Henry and Santosh Venkatraman, “Big Data Analytics the Next Big Learning Opportunity,” Journal of Management Information and Decision Sciences 18, no. 2 (2015): 17–29, accessed February 22, 2016, ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest.

Newspaper or Popular Magazine Article

(Example shows database)
  1. Tom Coburn, "A Cancer ‘Moonshot’ Needs Big Data." Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition, January 15, 2016, accessed January 29, 2016, A13, Business Source Complete, EBSCOhost.
Web Resources
  1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.
  2. Keith Carter, “Big Data: What’s the Big Deal?”  National University of Singapore Business School: Think Business, June 03, 2013, accessed October 12, 2015. http://thinkbusiness.nus.sg/articles/item/135-big-data-whats-the-big-deal?

Business Databases

Use your judgement. You may have to create your title (example 2) so that your user knows what you were searching. Always look to see if there is an author (analyst).

Provide the database name not the URL.
  1. Andrew Alverez, “Online Grocery Sales in the US. IBISWorld Industry Report OD5085,”July 2016, IBISWorld.
  2. “List of Greek Restaurants in Wake County, NC,” 2015, US Businesses, ReferenceUSA.
  3. Bryant Harland, “Attitudes Toward Gaming – US- June 2016”, June 2016, Mintel Academic.

Bloomberg Database

Follow the same guidelines as business databases. Often titles will be the screen name combined with the equity you are researching.

  1. "Financial Analysis for Microsoft US Equity," 2017, accessed May 22, 2017, Bloomberg Terminal.
Simmons Oneview Database

 Quick Report :

  1. “Demographic Profile: Business Purchasers making decisions over $5000 a year,” 2014, Spring 2014 NHCS Adult Study 12-Month, Simmons Oneview.

Crosstab Report:

  1. “Crosstab Report: Time of Day Energy Drink Users Watch Television,” 2014, Spring 2014 NHCS Adult Stud 12-Month, Simmons Oneview.

Emails, Interviews, & Lectures (Presentations)

  1. Email sender name, "E-mail with name, title, company, date of email.
  2. Interviewer, "Interview with name, title, company," date of interview.
  3. Presenter, "Title of presentation," date of presentation, URL to Slides.

 

University Writing Center

The IUPUI University Writing Center (UWC) is a free service available to all IUPUI students, faculty, and staff, at both the graduate and undergraduate level. It is a place where students can go for help with writing assignments and projects. The UWC offers students the opportunity to work one-on-one with experienced readers and writers.

The UWC offers two convenient locations: Cavanaugh Hall (CA 427) and University Library (UL 2125).

To schedule a tutoring session at either the Cavanaugh Hall location or University Library location, you may telephone the CA location at (317) 274-2049, telephone the UL location at (317) 278-8171, or visit either UWC location. You must provide both your name and your University ID number, at the time you schedule the session.