The Active Healthy Kids Global Alliance is a network of researchers, health professionals and stakeholders who are working together to advance physical activity in children and youth from around the world. The Alliance has prepared a Global Matrix on the physical activity of children and youth in 38 countries from 6 continents, representing 60% of the world’s population. Nine common indicators were used (Overall Physical Activity, Organized Sport Participation, Active Play, Active Transportation, Sedentary Behavior, Family and Peers, School, Community and the Built Environment, and Government Strategies and Investments), and all Report Cards were presented at the International Congress on Physical Activity and Public Health in Bangkok, Thailand on November 16, 2016.
Published by the U.S. Department of State and include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. They are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus.
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Sources include news articles, journal articles, video, and more.
Provides links to official statistical sources for individual countries. For a non-English speaking country, look for a link to English language on their websites (this may appear as the word "English" or as an American or British flag). NOTE: links may not have been recently updated.
OECD uses its wealth of information on a broad range of topics to help governments foster prosperity and fight poverty through economic growth and financial stability. We help ensure the environmental implications of economic and social development are taken into account. Provides data and multiple publications; browse by country or topic.
Provides assistance and guidance for governments, NGOs, and experts to debate the evolving challenges of physical education and sport. The organization also assists and advises Member States wishing to elaborate or strengthen their training system in physical education. And it offers its expertise in the design and implementation of development programmes in the domain of sport. The site offers news, reports, and other information sources, including a 2013 report: World-wide Survey of School Physical Education.
An interactive database bringing together core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. It comprises more than 100 indicators, which can be accessed by way of a quick search, by major categories, or through user-defined tables. The data can be further filtered, tabulated, charted and downloaded.
The Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society explores the concept of play in history and modern society in the United States and internationally. Its scope encompasses leisure and recreational activities of children and adults throughout the ages, from dice games in the Roman Empire to video games today.
Guide to Countries of the World by Peter StalkerThis A-Z guide provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry gives a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. In addition, for each country there is a clear map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. The inclusion of at least one web link for every country is a new feature to thisedition and web links are conveniently accessible via the Guide to Countries of the World companion website. Invaluable supplementary material includes detailed indicator tables showing income and poverty,health and population etc, and list of international organizations, such as the EU and the African Union, with essential information about these groupings.Revised and fully up to date with the latest key facts, this accessible guide is ideal for students and teachers of geography, politics, economics, world religions, and world history at all levels, as well as anyone wanting a home reference book to accompany an atlas.
This multivolume set is much more than a collection of essays on sports and sporting cultures from around the world: it also details how and why sports are played wherever they exist, and examines key charismatic athletes from around the world who have transcended their sports.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (E-book) by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-02-17
Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for 533 diverse cultural groups in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Europe.