Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Librarian
About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Human Sexuality and Health Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Cecelia Vetter cevetter@iu.edu.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to human sexuality and health.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Global Health This link opens in a new windowPublic health research and practice containing information from journals, reports, books and conferences from 1973 - present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
- GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAcademic, grey, and popular literature supporting research in LGBTQ studies; family studies; gender and women's studies; 1970-present.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index. Includes selected pamphlets and audiovisual materials.
Journals
- Journal of Sex ResearchThe Journal of Sex Research (JSR) is a scholarly journal devoted to the publication of articles relevant to the variety of disciplines involved in the scientific study of sexuality.
- Archives of Sexual BehaviorThe official publication of the International Academy of Sex Research, the journal is dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual science, broadly defined.
- Endocrine PracticeThe American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists' peer-reviewed journal contains original articles, review articles, commentaries, editorials, and visual vignettes related to endocrine diseases.
- Journal of Sex and Marital TherapyThis journal covers topics such as therapeutic techniques, outcome, special clinical and medical problems, and the theoretical parameters of sexual functioning, and marital relationships.
- Transgender HealthTransgender Health is the first peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout the lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity.
Books
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Health (Book Chapter)Publication Date: 2018-08-13Understanding health disparities, creating positive patient experiences, future directions in LGBTQ+ health, and further resource suggestions.
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by ISBN: 9780323496421Publication Date: 2020Covers all aspects of transgender health care beginning with epidemiology and history, and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options.Fixing Sex: Intersex, Medical Authority, and Lived Experience by
ISBN: 9780822343028Publication Date: 2008Examines contemporary controversies over the medical management of intersexuality and reveals the complex reality of how intersexuality is understood, treated, and experienced. Covers intersex management and the connections between gender, biology, and the body.Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures by
ISBN: 9781138740839Publication Date: 2020Reference handbook written for sex researchers and their students to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research.
Lessons from the Intersexed (Print) by ISBN: 9780813525303Publication Date: 1998Explores the possibilities and implications of suspending a commitment to two normal genders and addresses gender destabilization issues arising from intersexuality. Proposes new approaches for physicians to use in talking with parents of intersexed children.
Sex/Gender: Biology in a Social World by ISBN: 9780415881456Publication Date: 2012An introduction to the biochemistry, neurobiology, and social construction of gender, including the moral, ethical, social and political side. Explains how biological difference can be produced over time in response to different environmental and social experiences.
Sexual Selections: What We Can and Can’t Learn about Sex from Animals by ISBN: 9780520240759Publication Date: 2002An eye-opening tour of some of the latest developments in our knowledge of animal sexuality and evolutionary biology. Discusses such politically charged topics as motherhood, the genetic basis for adultery, the female orgasm, menstruation, and homosexuality.
Transgender History by ISBN: 9781580052245Publication Date: 2008A chronological approach to transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Includes excerpts from transgender memoirs and discussion of treatments of transgenderism in popular culture.
Transgender History: The Roots of Today's Revolution (Print) by ISBN: 9781580056892Publication Date: 2017A chronological approach to transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Includes excerpts from transgender memoirs and discussion of treatments of transgenderism in popular culture.
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
- Kinsey Institute Library and Special CollectionsAccess print materials, film and video, fine art, artifacts, photography, and archives on all aspects of human sexuality.
- Eskenazi Health Transgender Health and Wellness ProgramThe Eskenazi Health Transgender Health & Wellness Program, located on the fifth floor of the Sandra Eskenazi Outpatient Care Center, provides primary care and specialty services for older adolescent and adult transgender patients of all gender identities.
- National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE)A nonprofit organization, NCTE was founded in 2003 by trans gender activists. The overarching goal is to advocate and educate, on a national level, issues of importance to trans gender people.
- Intersex Society of North AmericaThe Intersex Society of North America (ISNA) is devoted to systemic change to end shame, secrecy, and unwanted genital surgeries for people born with an anatomy that someone decided is not standard for male or female.
- Human Rights CampaignAs the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.
- National LGBTQ TaskforceThe National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people.
- GLAADAs a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change for LGBTQ+ acceptance.
Grants and Other Funding Opportunities
- Community of Science (CoS) Pivot This link opens in a new windowProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. Comprehensive world-wide database of funding opportunities, field experts, and collaborators. Save your search and receive alerts.
First-time users need to Access Pivot-RP using Institution's Credentials (Shibboleth) - search for "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis" in the drop-down menu. You will then be prompted to create a Pivot-RP account using your university email address
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Funding & Proposals: Finding and Requesting FundingInformation from Indiana University's Office of the Vice President for Research.
- Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
