Scholarly Concentrations
This guide contains resources and services that the Ruth Lilly Medical Library provides to support the Scholarly Concentrations at the Indiana University School of Medicine.
Assistant Director for Research and Translational Sciences
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0103-6318About this Page
This page contains resources that may be helpful with the Health Information Technology Scholarly Concentration project and product.
Please refer to the Scholarly Concentration Canvas site for the most up to date list of required readings and materials for other courses.
If you have any questions or suggestions for improving this guide, please contact Beth Whipple at ewhipple@iu.edu.
Articles
Below are resources that include articles related to health information technology.
- MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index primarily for the sciences and social sciences. Useful for forward citation searching. Need to export searches? Click "more..." below
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowInstitute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers publications and standards in engineering, computer science, and related fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. (Does not support Internet Explorer as a browser)
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAccess to all Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) articles, including magazine, journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. Access is also provided to the Computing Reviews and Guide to Computing Literature.
Books
Clinical Informatics Study Guide by ISBN: 9783319227528Publication Date: 2016Provides clinicians with the core knowledge and competencies necessary to be effective informatics leaders in health care organizations. Content is drawn from the areas recognized by the American Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) as necessary to prepare physicians to become Board Certified in Clinical Informatics.
Health Care Information Systems by ISBN: 9781119337188Publication Date: 2017Offers the fundamental knowledge and tools needed to manage information and information resources effectively within a wide variety of health care organizations. Also reviews the major environmental forces that shape the national health information landscape.
Healthcare Information Security and Privacy by ISBN: 9780071831796Publication Date: 2015Learn best practices for healthcare information security and privacy with detailed coverage of essential topics such as information governance, roles and occupations, risk assessment and management, incident response, patient rights, and cybersecurity.
Delivering Health Care in America by ISBN: 9781284124491Publication Date: 2017LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.
Health Information Exchange by ISBN: 9780128031353Publication Date: 2016Allows health professionals to appropriately access, and securely share, patients' vital medical information electronically, thus improving the speed, quality, safety, and cost of patient care. Presents foundational knowledge on HIE, covering technology, governance, and policy.
Population Health Informatics by ISBN: 9781284103960Publication Date: 2019LIMITED TO 1 CONCURRENT USER. PLEASE CLOSE WHEN FINISHED TO ALLOW OTHERS TO USE THE BOOK. Addresses the growing opportunity to use technology to implement evidence-based solutions for the improvement of population health outcomes.
It's about Patient Care by ISBN: 9781259642937Publication Date: 2017This book demonstrates how to design, implement, and maximize your organization's IT systems to deliver fully integrated, coordinated, high-quality care.
Journals
- Applied Clinical Informatics (ACI)Official peer-reviewed eJournal of AMIA and IMIA that aims to establish a platform that allows sharing of knowledge between clinical medicine and health IT specialists as well as bridging gaps between visionary design and successful and pragmatic deployment.
- BMC Medical Informatics and Decision MakingThis open access journal publishes original peer-reviewed research articles in relation to the design, development, implementation, use, and evaluation of health information technologies and decision-making for human health.
- International Journal of Medical InformaticsInternational Journal of Medical Informatics provides an international medium for dissemination of original results and interpretative reviews concerning the field of medical informatics.
- Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA)Official journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
- Journal of Biomedical Informatics (JBI)The Journal of Biomedical Informatics reflects a commitment to high-quality original research papers, reviews, and commentaries in the area of biomedical informatics methodology.
- Browse all of our MEDICAL INFORMATICS e-journalsLinks to all of our e-journals on medical informatics and health information technology
Scholarly Projects, Research, and Publishing Resources
- Presentation Skills Toolkit for Medical StudentsThe Undergraduate Medical Education Section of the Group on Educational Affairs developed this toolkit as a resource for medical students and health professions trainees as you learn to create and give effective presentations in the classroom, in the clinical setting, and at academic meetings and conferences.
- Scholarly Publishing GuideThis guide is intended to assist scholars early in their publishing career.
- IUSM Research Compliance Research GuideThis guide contains information about the NIH mandate, open access, and data management policies.
- Scholarly Impact Research GuideThis guide contains information on where to publish as well as ways to determine the impact of scholarly products.
- Research Data ServicesThis guide provide resources and services for managing data during each step of the research process.
- ORCIDProvides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Organizations and Other Resources
- Indiana Health Information Exchange (IHIE)The Indiana Health Information Exchange (IHIE) has been around for over a decade, with its roots dating back 30 years. We have the largest and broadest participant community in the nation, and we are at the center of where digital health, payment reform and patient care intersect.
- Public Health Informatics InstitutePublic Health Informatics Institute (PHII) has led the charge in establishing informatics as a recognized discipline critical to the field of public health with our mission to transform health practitioners’ ability to use information effectively.
Partnering Organizations
- Regenstrief InstituteRegenstrief Institute conducts research and development at the intersection of clinical medicine, technology, academia, and industry, and is a leader in the development of electronic health records.
- Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public HealthThe Fairbanks School of Public Health is dedicated to the pursuit of health for all people. We emphasize the prevention of disease and strive to ensure the interests of the public are represented in health policies and practices.
Grant Funding
- IU Research - Funding & ProposalsIU's Research Office provides lots of help for finding funding, etc.
- Community of Science (CoS) PivotProvided through IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor of Research. A comprehensive worldwide database including funding opportunities and profiles of millions of potential collaborators. SIGN UP at the login page: 1) click on "signup" 2) click on "Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis".
- Introduction to Pivot - DemoIndiana University recording of a 10/15/2020 webinar (1 hour 17 mins)
- Federal Grants (grants.gov)Search: Quality Innovation
Limit to: Grant, Public and State controlled institutions of higher education - Indiana University Internal Funding OpportunitiesYou can use this page to search for internal funding by campus and/or category.
- Indiana University External Funding OpportunitiesYou can apply for internal funding or external funding. Be aware that some external agencies set a limit on the number of proposals or pre-proposals an institution may submit. In those cases, you must follow IU’s limited submission process before applying.
- Indiana University Limited SubmissionsSome funding agencies restrict the number of proposals an institution may submit to a particular funding program. These opportunities are referred to as limited submissions. Some programs are limited by institution (i.e., X proposals allowed for the entire university), some by campus, some by school.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by ISBN: 9780826141446Publication Date: 2018For new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, this text illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Includes key information about grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants.
