African Studies

Founded in 1963, CAMP is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. This guide describes selected highlights of the CAMP collection.

The IU Libraries hold a variety of valuable African Studies materials, including primary and secondary sources, on microfiche and microfilm. The guide below is a selected list of those materials and includes government documents, African titles, Missionary papers, rare books, etc. The guide is not comprehensive and is designed to show the depth and breadth of the holdings at Indiana University Libraries.

AFRINUl is a centralized electronic database of holdings information for newspapers (all formats and all languages) published in sub-Saharan Africa. AFRINUL currently consolidates holdings information for collections in North America, and will expand to include holdings in Africa, Europe, and elsewhere.

Contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.

The posters represent a variety of social, political, and cultural issues, including public health, education, liberation and independence, political campaigns, the anti-apartheid movement, Biafra, Darfur, economics, art, publishing, and music.

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University.

The Africa Map Collection is defined to include the landmass encompased by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Suez Canal and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The area includes island territories in both the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian Ocean. Maps in this collection are held in large part by the University of Florida's Map and Imagery Library.

The Maps of Africa to 1900 digital collection contains images of maps listed in the bibliography Maps of Africa to 1900: A Checklist of Maps in Atlases and Geographical Journals in the Collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (Bassett & Scheven, Urbana: Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 2000). As such, this collection mines not only the Library’s map collections, but also its extensive collection of 19th century atlases and geographical journals, including the Journal of the Royal Geographical Society (United Kingdom), the Bulletin de la Société de Géographie de Paris (France), and Petermanns Geographische Mittheilungen (Germany).

This digital library contains archival and research materials that explore Islamic practices in the West African countries of Senegal and Ghana. Presented in six galleries of audio and video interviews, transcripts, photographs, maps, documents, and multimedia presentations, these resources shed much-needed light on how Muslims in West Africa accept religious difference and create productive interactions among Christians, Muslims, and practitioners of other faiths.